I have often seen in blitz games that when a player captures a piece and then hits the clock with the piece. Is that a legal move or is the player required to place it on the table and hit the clock with the hand?

Similarly, in the case of promotion, can a player hit the clock with the pawn after it is removed from the board after a promotion.

I also have seen players hold a piece in their hand during play, typically awaiting a promotion (with queen in hand) or just holding a piece?

Are there any official rules that govern hitting the clock with a piece or even holding a non playing piece during play?

  • 2
    I've had an opponent use a touch-sensitive clock that won't register as being hit if you touch it with a piece instead of your hand - which I only found out because I did try using a piece. – D M Aug 31 at 19:55

I feel this is legal. I'm using FIDE rules.

This is the rule that describes what happens with a capture:

3.1.1 If a piece moves to a square occupied by an opponent’s piece the latter is captured and removed from the chessboard as part of the same move.

There's nothing there about what happens to the captured pieces, other than they are removed from the board.

Now, of course somebody will argue that this rule exists:

6.2.3 A player must press his clock with the same hand with which he made his move. It is forbidden for a player to keep his finger on the clock or to ‘hover’ over it.

And there it says "with the same hand". But you also have to remove the captured piece with that hand, and once you've done that you have to press the clock, and there is no requirement to let go of the piece. I argue that this rule is intended to be used against people who move a piece with one hand and press the clock with the other, not against using the piece that you happen to have in your hand.

Of course, there is an opportunity for bad behaviour, by hiding pieces in your hand so that the opponent doesn't notice he is behind in material (IMO that's that opponent's fault, look at the board not at the removed pieces), or worse, hiding the piece that the opponent wants to promote to. Or by simple distracting the opponent by constant fiddling with pieces in your hands.

But there are already rules against distracting the opponent, there is also the umbrella rule against "bringing the game of chess into disrepute", and when you want to promote but don't immediately spot the piece it is always acceptable to stop the clock, call an arbiter and have him fetch the piece for you. That is enough ammo to use against bad behaviour.

No it's not. FIDE Rules state clearly what's an illegal move is:

http://www.fide.com/fide/handbook.html?id=208&view=article

3.10.2 A move is illegal when it fails to meet the relevant requirements of Articles 3.1 – 3.9

The articles 3.1 to 3.9 talk about the movement of the pieces.

You could argue that pushing the clock with a piece is a misbehaviour (Article 6.2.4), in such a case that could be penalized according to Article 12.9:

6.2.4 The players must handle the chessclock properly. It is forbidden to press it forcibly, to pick it up, to press the clock before moving or to knock it over. Improper clock handling shall be penalised in accordance with Article 12.9.

And

12.9 Options available to the arbiter concerning penalties:

12.9.1 warning,

12.9.2 increasing the remaining time of the opponent,

12.9.3 reducing the remaining time of the offending player,

12.9.4 increasing the points scored in the game by the opponent to the maximum available for that game,

12.9.5 reducing the points scored in the game by the offending person,

12.9.6 declaring the game to be lost by the offending player (the arbiter shall also decide the opponent’s score),

12.9.7 a fine announced in advance,

12.9.8 exclusion from one or more rounds,

12.9.9 expulsion from the competition.

  • Which of the rules in 3.1-3.9 is broken? The move has already been made, the piece is already removed from the board, this isn't about how to move pieces on the board. And in 6.2.4, it never says that pushing it with a piece instead of a finger is improper. – RemcoGerlich Sep 10 at 8:15

Your Answer

 

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.