Skip to main content

Questions tagged [rules]

Questions relating to the rules of chess

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
5 votes
1 answer
710 views

Is there a Fairy Chess Piece that Combines the Gnurider and Queen?

In fairy chess a Gnu moves like both a Camel and a Knight. A Camel moves three squares in one direction (either horizontally or vertically) and then one square perpendicular to that direction. A ...
HTTYDTHW's user avatar
-1 votes
2 answers
601 views

Why don't Hikaru, Fabi & Nepo buy out Liren so the 3 of them have a playoff to face Gukesh? [closed]

Edit on opinion-based close vote: It's most likely. 1 of my assumptions is wrong. I mean to ask which of the assumptions are wrong. However, if none of the assumptions are wrong, then I think this ...
BCLC's user avatar
  • 2,170
-1 votes
0 answers
51 views

Roulette as tiebreak in 1983 candidates

From What are some cases where a drawn match went to the player w/ more black wins? : In the 1980 – 1981 candidates, where Lajos Portisch, as black, beat Boris Spassky in the 1st game of their ...
BCLC's user avatar
  • 2,170
-1 votes
1 answer
25 views

What are some cases where a drawn match went to the player w/ more black wins?

In some round robins or swiss, there are score tiebreakers based on black wins, like the 2022 Accentus Chess960 tournament. Never mind those. My question is for knockouts. Obviously this doesn't work ...
BCLC's user avatar
  • 2,170
-2 votes
1 answer
50 views

What happens if drawn matches are decided by black wins (if any)?

In some round robins or swiss, there are score tiebreakers based on black wins, like the 2022 Accentus Chess960 tournament and the 2023 USCC. Never mind those. My question is for knockouts. Obviously ...
BCLC's user avatar
  • 2,170
5 votes
1 answer
450 views

How are some FIDE rated tournaments organizing 3 classical games per day?

58th Begonia Open 2024 was a FIDE rated tournament held in March 2024 in Ballarat, Australia. The tournament consisted of 7 rounds and on one of the days there were 3 rounds of classical chess a day. ...
Abhyuday Vaish's user avatar
0 votes
0 answers
63 views

Ethics of scratch boards in puzzles

Re these questions: would a board for calculating "non-blindfold" help GMs in slow games? Ethics of scratch boards in live games There is a built-in feature of a 'scratch board' in ...
BCLC's user avatar
  • 2,170
-2 votes
3 answers
199 views

How isn't a time management extension cheating / unethical?

An extension was released 3 years ago in 2021Feb: Hikaru and GothamChess Tell You to MOVE (Time Management Extension). After a certain amount of elapsed time, you get notified by a voice of Hikaru ...
BCLC's user avatar
  • 2,170
2 votes
2 answers
105 views

Do endgame tablebases only handle legal positions?

The title is my question for now. I also wonder if similar legality concerns may reduce the number of input FENs as checkmates used as input to the retrograde proofing or construction process. In ...
dbdb's user avatar
  • 162
3 votes
1 answer
164 views

How often can the initial position be repeated under FIDE tournament rules?

Recently a game was played where two GMs swapped kingside and queenside knights and then agreed a draw (and got their just dessert): How often can the starting position be repeated in a game without ...
Hauke Reddmann's user avatar
1 vote
2 answers
245 views

Consequences of Missing a Single Game in a Rated Chess Tournament

I am participating in a rated chess tournament that spans multiple rounds, and I have a specific query regarding attendance. Suppose I have played the first 9 rounds of the tournament, but due to ...
Iman Mohammadi's user avatar
2 votes
2 answers
122 views

Can Winning a Game in a First Rated Tournament Result in a Lower Rating than Not Playing?

I'm curious about a specific scenario in chess rating systems, particularly for a player attending their first rated tournament. Is it possible that for an unrated player, winning a game in their ...
Iman Mohammadi's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
631 views

Handling Illegal Moves by Both Players in a Blitz Game: Rules and Arbiter's Role

In a recent blitz chess game, a situation left me uncertain about the official rules and how they are enforced. Both players, including myself, made illegal moves, but these were not immediately ...
Iman Mohammadi's user avatar
4 votes
4 answers
129 views

would a board for calculating "non-blindfold" help GMs in slow games?

I have often wondered, how would it be if the rules were different and you could calculate on a "non-blindfold" board during slow games. For example, you could picture each player in the ...
Chris Sanders's user avatar
3 votes
1 answer
549 views

How many illegal moves are allowed in Classical, Rapid & Blitz?

As of Jan-2024, I see that 2 illegal moves are allowed in chess and the 3rd one results in a lose of the game by the one who made those. FIDE 7.4b After the action taken under Article 7.4.a, for the ...
iammilind's user avatar
  • 726
3 votes
1 answer
509 views

What is the result if a player has insufficient material and the opponent plays two illegal moves?

Suppose player X has only a king. Their opponent has played two illegal moves during the game. Is it a draw or does X win?
iammilind's user avatar
  • 726
6 votes
4 answers
350 views

What would cause FIDE to refuse to rate a tournament which had been correctly registered for rating?

According to this statement from FIDE today: Today, on December 18, the mini-matches featuring GM Alireza Firouzja (Elo 2750) began in Chartres, France - his hometown. This seven-game tournament pits ...
Brian Towers's user avatar
  • 98.4k
10 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can the game end in multiple ways at the same time?

We know that a game can't end in checkmate and draw by 50 move rule. The checkmate will take precedence. But just for fun let's ask: is it possible for a game to end in both draw by repetition & ...
Laska's user avatar
  • 12.2k
1 vote
1 answer
263 views

Is wearing headphones during chess games against the rules in FIDE and Chess.com?

Recently Vladimir Kramnik accused Hikaru Nakamura of cheating in online chess. He Tweeted : "It is impossible to imagine a player to be allowed to wear headphones during a game of chess." Or ...
MrChessR's user avatar
  • 242
4 votes
1 answer
131 views

What are the Rules of Baroque chess?

I want to do an AI project implementing a Chess agent, so can anyone please let me know the Rules of Baroque chess?
user36271's user avatar
4 votes
2 answers
227 views

How early can you resign a game?

Imagine a situation where you are playing in a FIDE-rated tournament. You're at the board but for some reason you don't want to play anymore. Can you resign the game before it even starts, or can you ...
Nicolas Formichella's user avatar
7 votes
2 answers
2k views

Does Fide/Elo rating fade over time?

Let's imagine I am a super genius, and I get a ELO ranking of 3000. And then suddenly I stop playing chess, what happens to my rating then over time? Does it slowly decrease by NOT playing? This is ...
user36003's user avatar
10 votes
1 answer
564 views

Can one make a deal with their opponent over what opening to play?

In official tournaments, are the two players allowed to talk (before or at the start) of a match to compromise on openings, eg. If white is good at the Sicilian but bad at the Caro-Kann and black is ...
Ryley's user avatar
  • 416
2 votes
1 answer
120 views

How would this position be scored if you ran out of time here?

Here is the position (black has just played Qf8, the only legal move after White's Re8+): [FEN "2nKRq1k/6pp/8/3n4/6b1/8/8/8 w - - 0 1"] In this position white has a forced mate in one, in ...
Hank's back rank's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
170 views

Is it legal, after touching a piece to move other pieces for the purpose of visualization

Imagine the following scenario: I am playing as white and on my first move I: Touch my b1 knight without moving it or pressing the clock Move one of my opponents pieces Move one of my pieces (...
Rowan Monk's user avatar
0 votes
1 answer
143 views

Promote a piece to queen by moving back aside of king?

As I was trying out different chess applications I received a hint from the Lucas Chess virtual tutor, showing me I had a better option: Move piece C2 to C1. When I did that, the piece promoted to ...
Gaston's user avatar
  • 111
10 votes
3 answers
4k views

"Premove" in OTB game

Lately, a player of mine caused a minor kerfuffle by his habit of touching a piece to counter blitz even when the opponent had not finished the move. Interestingly, I found nothing in the rules (...
Hauke Reddmann's user avatar
2 votes
2 answers
292 views

Official knight move rule definition

Not a trivial question: How would you define the knight move rule on a d-dimensional chessboard (say an 8 X 8 X ... X 8 board) by extending the official knight move rule that states how a knight moves ...
Marco Ripà's user avatar
2 votes
0 answers
135 views

My FIDE Initial Rating Calculation Problem

I’m working on path to get my initial FIDE rating. I joined 8 local FIDE rated tournaments with result as follow. Rating = Result Rapid Ratings November 2022 1083 = 0 Rapid Ratings March 2023 1142 =...
Mr_Sha's user avatar
  • 21
7 votes
1 answer
2k views

How do arbiters handle touch move complains where players deny?

So, two cases. Player A (A) and Player B (B) Case 1 B touches a piece. A sees it. B plays something else. A complains to arbiter that B didn't play the touched piece. Arbiter didn't see that B ...
cmgchess's user avatar
  • 2,722
1 vote
1 answer
100 views

Can Rook pawn still get win when opponent clock run out?

White has Rook pawn and King vs Black king just jumping from corner and back. But the game played on clock and black king clock run out. White avoided threefold and stalemate and moved his king to ...
tactical77's user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
387 views

Is it ethical to take a draw in a winning position, if a draw is good enough?

Follow-up question to Is it ethical to take a zero-moves draw in the last round of a tournament if one is already assured of first place? I'm concentrating on this particular scenario from that ...
Allure's user avatar
  • 27.9k
8 votes
3 answers
549 views

Who has the edge in "gg chess"?

These days, "gg" (good game) is frequently what folks say at the end of a game. At major chess events, at the end of a drawn game, the players & arbiter arrange the pieces in the ...
Laska's user avatar
  • 12.2k
0 votes
1 answer
117 views

Minimum break between rounds

I am an assistant arbiter in an open tournament which is happening over the weekend, with 1 round on Friday, and 2 rounds on Saturday and Sunday. There were 5.5 hours between the two rounds on ...
KristianMedK's user avatar
2 votes
1 answer
173 views

Question on FIDE Rating List Submission

I am playing in a tournament on the 19th-20th of this month and I have a question regarding FIDE rating change for the end of the month when the new list is published. I have done very well in some ...
Alex R's user avatar
  • 21
4 votes
1 answer
262 views

FIDE and USCF: If an arbiter is watching a chess game and observes that a rule has been violated, should the arbiter intervene?

FIDE and USCF: If an arbiter is watching a chess game and observes that a rule has been violated, should the arbiter intervene? Or should the arbiter intervene only if a player complains? Some people ...
Beginner's user avatar
  • 1,292
3 votes
1 answer
913 views

FIDE and USCF: What do the rules say when a player insults an arbiter?

FIDE and USCF: What do the rules say when a player insults an arbiter? This is an uncommon situation. In general, chess players are very polite people. 30 years ago, I was in training with Paul Klein, ...
Beginner's user avatar
  • 1,292
1 vote
0 answers
103 views

Time Trouble, Arbiter Trouble

Yesterday. Our club's summer tournament. One specialist A is in time trouble as always (to his defense, 90+30+no bonus) and no longer writes. The other specialist B still has 10 minutes and writes ...
Hauke Reddmann's user avatar
4 votes
0 answers
79 views

USCF rule for wrongly agreeing to stalemate? [duplicate]

In a USCF tournament game, after I moved and hit my clock, my opponent said "Is that stalemate?", reaching out his hand to shake on the result. I said "I think so," and shook his ...
DanStronger's user avatar
2 votes
2 answers
237 views

How to calculate USCF's Modified Median (with or without byes)?

The calculation is described in the "USCF Chess Rule Book", chapter 34E1, 34E1. Modified Median The Median system, also known as the Harkness system for inventor Kenneth Harkness, evaluates ...
clp's user avatar
  • 265
-1 votes
1 answer
120 views

How is this a draw?

I was playing a game on chess.com. It is this game: https://www.chess.com/live/game/84265198943 It ended in a draw right as I was about to flag my opponent. I can not figure out why.
Jonathan van de Veen's user avatar
7 votes
0 answers
243 views

How much would chess change if Black always had the last move?

In a hypothetical minor variant, could White's first-move advantage be compensated for by Black's right to last move? Normally, White wins have White play N+1 plies to Black's N. How would the game ...
Therac's user avatar
  • 213
11 votes
1 answer
3k views

What are FIDE really hoping to achieve by the proposed rating changes from January 2024?

FIDE have published a new article: FIDE seeks public discussion about proposed rating changes. They say: In the past decade, certain innovations have caused rating deflation, a concern that has been ...
Brian Towers's user avatar
  • 98.4k
0 votes
1 answer
152 views

Why did I lose -> I thought I can swap king and castle to avoid checkmate? [duplicate]

[FEN "6nN/Bp1k2pp/2n5/p7/Q4R1P/5pP1/P3qN2/4K2R w K - 0 1"] As you can see my king got checkmated through the enemy's queen and pawn. My question is, why is this a checkmate? I haven't moved ...
user avatar
2 votes
2 answers
242 views

Noisy opponent -- your responsibility?

My opponent seemed to me (then a teenager) an elderly guy but I think he was just in his 50s or 60s. Anyway, he literally was audibly and somewhat loudly talking to himself, saying, "If I go ...
releseabe's user avatar
  • 775
22 votes
2 answers
7k views

A player falls asleep during the game and his friend wakes him -- illegal?

I witnessed this: a player who burnt the candle at both ends fell asleep during the game and his friend woke him up. His opponent vehemently objected. How should this have been handled? I do not ...
releseabe's user avatar
  • 775
12 votes
2 answers
3k views

Can Loss by Checkmate be Avoided by Invoking the 50-Move Rule Immediately After the 100th Half-Move?

The FIDE Laws of Chess state the 50-move rule as follows: 9.3 The game is drawn, upon a correct claim by a player having the move, if: 9.3.1 he/she indicates his/her move, which cannot be ...
Dave's user avatar
  • 347
6 votes
3 answers
2k views

Does the touch move rule apply in Blitz?

At a casual club where I play, one guy insists on playing five minute Blitz games (most of us play untimed games otherwise). Since a player's move isn't complete until they press their clock, he ...
GreenMatt's user avatar
  • 3,227
4 votes
3 answers
313 views

Correct swiss pairings for a group of 4 players

Say we have a situation that's not super uncommon in swiss tournaments. There are four people currently tied with the most points, where #1 and #3 have just played White (for example), while #2 and #4 ...
Inertial Ignorance's user avatar
5 votes
1 answer
228 views

Running out of time mid promotion to checkmate. Who wins?

In a casual blitz game I had with my friend, my last move was to promote a pawn, to ladder mate my opponent (there was already a rook on the 7th). I moved the pawn, but while I was reaching for the ...
Zock77's user avatar
  • 153

1
2 3 4 5
13