I accidentally touched my bishop and opponent's "Knight", while reaching for my queen during a game, almost simultaneously. Am I forced to take the opponent's piece?


2 Answers 2


FIDE Article 4.3:

Except as provided in Article 4.2, if the player having the move touches on the chessboard, with the intention of moving or capturing:

a. one or more of his own pieces, he must move the first piece touched that can be moved

b. one or more of his opponent’s pieces, he must capture the first piece touched that can be captured

c. one piece of each colour, he must capture the opponent’s piece with his piece or, if this is illegal, move or capture the first piece touched that can be moved or captured. If it is unclear whether the player’s own piece or his opponent’s was touched first, the player’s own piece shall be considered to have been touched before his opponent’s.

If a player touches a piece without the intention of moving or capturing (e.g. fingerslip), there is no touch move restriction.

  • I see the language has changed slightly from last year. Sep 27, 2015 at 22:19

No, as long as you say adjust your fine. It has to be deliberate movement in order for touch move to be called upon

  • 3
    Saying adjust doesn't have anything to do with accidentally touching a piece. You say adjust before you touch a piece to adjust it. You can't know that you are going to touch a piece accidentally and say adjust before that.
    – JiK
    Sep 27, 2015 at 22:09
  • @JiK Well, like bump the piece, then fix it with adjust afterwards.
    – user8213
    Sep 28, 2015 at 5:48
  • @user8213 FIDE and USCF rules (and probably everyone else's) require that the player announce their intention to adjust a piece before touching it. After it has been touched, the touch-move rule applies regardless of what the player says, though the opponent may decline his right to enforce it.
    – jaxter
    Oct 18, 2016 at 20:46

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.