5

I just wanted to clarify the following incident:

When touching a piece without expressing the intend to adjust its position (cf. 4.2.1 FIDE Laws of Chess), such that it has to be moved because there is at least one legal move with this piece (cf. 4.3.1), one moves another piece (in an otherwise legal way), presses the clock, and the arbiter observes this; how should the arbiter decide?

Clearly, the move must be taken back and the clocks adjusted, but does this count as if an illegal move also? In my opinion, this is the case, but the (possible) reasonings I came up with had some holes:

  • A player must make a move every time it is their turn, and press the clock if their move didn't end the game. Failing to move a piece is as if an illegal move (cf. 7.5.3). The player must move the first touched piece, but failed to do so; the move of the other piece is irrelevant (?).
  • A player must move the first touched piece, but moved a second one; two moves consecutively is not allowed (cf. 1.2). Violating this is as if an illegal move (?).

I'm happy for any definitive take on that, preferably with an official source backing it up.

1

Clearly, the move must be taken back and the clocks adjusted, does this count as if an illegal move also?

No. There was one illegal move. That move was punished as an illegal move. That move was retracted, i.e. unmade. A legal move was made. A total of one move was made and then the clock was pressed.

The player must move the first touched piece, but failed to do so; the move of the other piece is irrelevant

Where do you get the nonsensical idea that the legal move is irrelevant?

A player must move the first touched piece, but moved a second one; two moves consecutively is not allowed (cf. 1.2).

Two consecutive moves were NOT made! One illegal move was made. That move was retracted and then one legal move was made.

Look, if I make an illegal move (my hand leaves the piece), say I move another piece when I am in check and that piece can't prevent the check by capture or blocking. Then I notice that my move is illegal or my opponent tells me before I have pressed the clock then I am perfectly entitled to retract that illegal move and make another legal move in its place all without penalty. Furthermore I am REQUIRED by the laws so to do.

2
  • Dear Brian, first of all: Thank you for your answer. You might have misunderstood my question: Taking back the move in question and adjusting the clocks is not punishing an illegal move. That would also require awarding 2 (or 1) minutes to the opponent and "increasing the illegal move counter", or losing the game if it already occured. That didn't happen in my scenario, so the question was, if that is necessary. Other than that, i feel unasked for hostility in your answer, especially towards my possibly explanations on 'why is ignoring touch move an illegal move?'. To be continued
    – Fabian
    Oct 7 at 12:43
  • Furthermore, I do not see how your last paragraph is relevant to the question at hand. In the scenario, the clock was pressed and there was a possible move with the afore touched piece.
    – Fabian
    Oct 7 at 12:44

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.