For example, I touch my king with the left hand and my queen with the right hand at the same time. Regarding the rules, I must move a touched piece, so what would happen in this case? Could I choose which piece to move? Would I lose the game automatically when doing such an action?

Is using both hands allowed at all? (e.g.: moving one piece with both hands).

As far as I know, at least in blitz, you must use the clock and move the pieces with the same hand, so what would happen there if you use both hands when moving a piece or touching two different pieces with each hand?

1 Answer 1


From the FIDE Laws of Chess, article §4.1:

Each move must be made with one hand only.

So you are not allowed to make a move with both hands (this includes castling) and the arbiter can give you a penalty (§12.9) for this behaviour. IMHO, this should be a warning the first time you do it. In any case, because you touched the king and queen, you must make a move with either piece (§4.3):

If the player having the move touches (...) one or more of his own pieces, he must move the first piece touched that can be moved.

  • Ty for the quick answer, maybe you can answer me a second question: Can opponent insist on the touch rule if you touch a piece by accident? (e.g. touching it with ellbow when reaching for a bottle...)
    – kl78
    Nov 6, 2015 at 16:49
  • 2
    I'd say no, because §4.3 explicitly says with the intention of moving or capturing.
    – Glorfindel
    Nov 6, 2015 at 16:53
  • I was going to make a separate thread about this but seeing as you already answered here, I'll just ask you. What is the reason and history behind this rule ? It seems a bit ridiculous to get disqualified just because you touched another piece.
    – Saikat
    Jul 14, 2016 at 15:36
  • 1
    @Saikat: Both players are entitled to examine the board without visual distraction at any time, regardless of who is on move. For a player on move to touch pieces would likely be a major distraction for his opponent, whether or not the action was intended as such. In situations where touch-move rules would not apply, such as when one or both players is visually impaired, the two players use separate chessboards, but that would be a nuisance for normal games between sighted players.
    – supercat
    Nov 18, 2021 at 20:14

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.