With some extremely rare exceptions, KNN vs KR endgame should be a draw. However, I am wondering what if this endgame happens in a game with no increments. I think the following will happen at chess.com:
- If KNN runs out of time, KR wins.
- If KR runs out of time, it is a draw.
Isn't this unfair since both sides do not have reasonable winning chances. It seems to me that in this endgame, time out rule favors KR, though KNN is 1 point up in material (if each knight is counted as 3 points and each rook counted as 5 points).