Hello I have a few "edge" cases which I am quite interested what do you think about.
Note that all of those are on my understanding of FIDE chess rules and might be wrong - thank you for the correction in that case.
The game shall end in a draw if there is no legal sequence of moves leading to win (for either side)
- does that mean that this position -> only pseudo-legal move is Kxg4 and there is no legal sequence that would lead to mate https://lichess.org/editor/8/1k6/8/8/6qK/8/8/8_w_-_-_0_1 shall be the final position and Playing Kxg4 is not "allowed"/necessary?
- how about this one? https://lichess.org/editor/7b/8/8/3k4/8/3K4/8/5B2_w_-_-_145_1 - note: 145 plies - soon 75 move rule, but I am pretty sure you cant mate by any side here within 5 plies
how would you decide this as an arbiter? I believe it can be sometimes difficult to see if it's possible within the 75 move rule ...
I believe there are more such edge cases - such as that a position forcing move (or sequence of them) that leads to 5 times repeated position etc. Also note that this might be important to know is someone's time is down in an OTB tournament in such a situation.