1

Consider the following well-known motif:

[FEN "8/1k6/5pp1/7p/7P/6P1/8/7K b - - 0 1"]

Black wins even with Ka8, but being true Patzer: 1...g5?? 2.g4! Kmoch's crosslever, 1-0.

Now in the critical position after 1...g5, pawns are hanging. Can you conceive a position with the following conditions:

  • White, a pawn down, to move wins by a breakthrough
  • Everything beyond a pawn-free file isn't counted in "pawn down"
  • No free White pawns
  • If a White pawn has passed a Black one, the latter isn't counted for "pawn down" either
  • Black doubled pawns are OK
  • No captures possible in the position
  • Kings far away, play no role

(Note: After thinking ten seconds, I know the answer, but I still leave it as a puzzle for you. Feel free to think about how many pawns White can be down for a sufficient breakthrough.)

2
  • 1
    Your diagram seems to be upside down.
    – bof
    Oct 5, 2022 at 2:15
  • @bof: Yup, that seems to be the default when BTM. I'd wish the replayer had a little black or white dot or arrow to indicate the right to move and the orientation of the board. Oct 5, 2022 at 7:25

1 Answer 1

4

The g6-break comes to mind, as in

[fen "8/5ppp/8/5PPP/8/8/8/8 w - - 1 0"]

1.g6 hxg6 2.f6 gxf6 3.h6

We can adapt this. Here, White wins starting with the break 1.g6

[fen "8/pppppppp/8/4PPPP/8/8/8/k1K5 w - - 0 1"]

1.g6 hxg6 2.f6 exf6 3.exf6 gxf6 4.h6

Same idea in the center, now five pawns are needed, but we get a minority attack on either side.

[fen "8/pppppppp/8/2PPPPP1/8/8/8/k1K5 w - - 0 1"]

1.e6

This breaks works on fifth row as well, given Black can neither check (wK on c3) nor escort his own pawn in due time (wK on c1).

[fen "8/8/pppppppp/8/2PPPPP1/1K6/8/k7 w - - 0 1"]

1.e5 dxe5 2. f5 exf5 3. gxf5 gxf5 4. d5 cxd5 5. cxd5 f4 6. Kc3
3
  • 1
    Amusingly, on an infinite board White can win with a constant 2/3 of Blacks pawns. (I doubt this value can be improved.) Oct 5, 2022 at 19:44
  • 1
    @HaukeReddmann not sure what this means: as the second diagram shows, five connected pawns on the 5th rank beat arbitrarily many pawns on the 7th (assuming that Queening first by a few tempi is a winning advantage). Oct 6, 2022 at 13:10
  • @NoamD.Elkies: Ah, I see. Any pawn two rows away from the last white obviously has no relevance in the fight. My 2/3 assumes these pawns don't count. Oct 6, 2022 at 19:03

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.