Episode #125 of the Stack Overflow podcast is here. We talk Tilde Club and mechanical keyboards. Listen now

Hot answers tagged

19

Yes. [Event "Northumbria Masters"] [Site "Newcastle"] [Date "2018.02.18"] [Round "8"] [White "Britton, Richard L"] [Black "Hebden GM, Mark L"] [ECO "C89"] [WhiteElo "2255"] [BlackElo "2454"] [Result "1/2-1/2"] [fen ""] 1. e4 e5 2. Nf3 Nc6 3. Bb5 a6 4. Ba4 Nf6 5. O-O Be7 6. Re1 b5 7. Bb3 O-O 8. c3 d6 9. h3 Nb8 10. d4 Nbd7 11. Nbd2 Bb7 12. Bc2 Re8 13. Nf1 ...


8

According to the FIDE Laws of Chess: 9.2.2 Positions are considered the same if and only if the same player has the move, pieces of the same kind and colour occupy the same squares and the possible moves of all the pieces of both players are the same. Thus positions are not the same if: 9.2.2.1 at the start of the sequence a pawn could have been ...


6

You don't have grounds to demand the time control you like. In practice I suppose that if your opponent agrees, you could get away with using whatever time control you both want as long as the game finishes on time, which is the main point the organizers care about. One thing that the USCF rules do cover is what to do if the stipulated time control has a ...


5

Signed scoresheets matter The other answers go into detail of what would be the correct result of the game. However, that is irrelevant because you say The scoresheet is signed as a loss. And FIDE laws 8.7 state At the conclusion of the game both players shall sign both scoresheets, indicating the result of the game. Even if ...


5

The FIDE Laws of Chess (I'm giving a link to the version in the Arbiter's Handbook because FIDE have Munged their own site) do give a definitive answer but it takes some searching to find. The key appears in the section on the Chess clock! 6.2.1 During the game each player, having made his move on the chessboard, shall stop his own clock and start his ...


5

You are close, but not quite right. I just spoke with a friend of mine, who has been a tournament director for over 40 years, USCF Senior TD Henry L. Terrie III (Hal Terrie). He told me that when you post a USCF tournament, you need to specify the delay, or it is assumed to be 5 seconds. So, while you cannot demand G/25 d5, you can demand G/30 d5 since it ...


4

I tried a search using ChessBase for players over 2400, and then sorted the result by length, but there were too many games because you cannot filter out blitz and rapid. The overwhelming majority of the games were blitz. I sent them a suggestion regarding adding a title filter and changing the filter for time control. Looking down the sorted list at the ...


3

If the tournament advance publicity specifies G/30 with no delay, then that is the time control. There is nothing in the USCF rulebook that would give you or your opponent either grounds to request a different time control, nor discretion to agree to a different time control. Per USCF rule 5B1c and 5B2, the time control really should appear in the ...


3

In short: Art. 5 lists situations that end the game immediately. Checkmate, stalemate, resignation, draw by agreement, dead position. Those end the game even if it is not noticed. All other ends need a valid claim (2nd irregular move) or at least someone who observes it (flag fall). And that is the case here: Art. 9.6 says that the game is drawn in the cases ...


2

No, checkmate or resignation ends the game. 9.6 says that if you have 75 moves or a 5-fold repetition, that the game is automatically drawn, and that no one needs to claim it. That said, checkmate still ends the game, so if that happens on the 75th move, it is over. You still need to realize that you have made the appropriate number of moves, and if you ...


1

Here is my email conversation with the head of the FIDE Arbiter's Commission, Laurent Freyd. In essence, for now, until they add a clarification, and arbiter would be correct ruling either way. That said, he says that he teaches new arbiters that once the game has ended, they do not go back and change the result after the fact. In other words, they still ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible