Skip to main content
13 votes

Understanding Carlsen's resignation in the rook and pawn endgame vs MVL

Intuitive plan Notice that black's last check is pushing the white king one row away from their passed e-pawn. Once black promotes the b-pawn, white will have to give up the rook for it. After which ...
Ellie's user avatar
  • 12k
13 votes
Accepted

White to play and win - only moving the rook once

This is a simple one. You can't make progress once the K's are opposed and thus the only solution is outflanking. [FEN "k7/8/8/8/8/8/8/K1R5 w - - 0 1"] 1. Ka2 Ka7 {is the human approach} (1....
IT M's user avatar
  • 520
12 votes
Accepted

Not in stalemate, but why is this a draw?

The game ended because of the 50-Move-Rule. From Wikipedia: The fifty-move rule in chess states that a player can claim a draw if no capture has been made and no pawn has been moved in the last ...
Benjamin Raabe's user avatar
12 votes
Accepted

Only Rook endgame!

Is it possible to win (black or white) in this position? Of course it is. Both black and white have mating material. They each have a rook but a victory for either of them would require the opponent ...
Brian Towers's user avatar
  • 98.6k
10 votes
Accepted

Drawn R+2P vs R endgame

I don't know the game you have in mind, but the following is one example of such a drawn position in this ending (as can be verified with a tablebase query): [fen "8/8/1r4kP/6P1/2R2K2/8/8/8 w - - 0 1"...
ETD's user avatar
  • 23.5k
10 votes

Understanding Carlsen's resignation in the rook and pawn endgame vs MVL

In short, the plan you proposed is possible, but it is just too slow, even if black allows it, which is not mandatory. If black permits it, here is a simple win that, although I checked it with a ...
PhishMaster's user avatar
  • 32.6k
10 votes
Accepted

Is this endgame drawn after the rook sacrifice?

Let's note the following: 1.Rxc2 and 1.Kxf4 and 1.Rd8+ are equally good, since they all draw. If we ignore 1.Rd8+ for now, 1.Rxc2 is clearly at least as good as 1.Kxf4 in the position, since it drives ...
Scounged's user avatar
  • 7,998
8 votes

Is this endgame position a draw?

While the accepted answer gives the correct evaluation of the position and a useful link, I think it is important to detail a little bit more the strategy in this interesting rook endgame. First of ...
Evargalo's user avatar
  • 16.4k
8 votes

White to play and win - only moving the rook once

Since it can't be analyzed with an engine, I made it so :-) I hope you agree that this setting keeps the relevant restriction (the wR only moves once): [FEN "8/p7/rp6/rp6/pP6/R7/8/K6k w - - 0 1&...
Hauke Reddmann's user avatar
7 votes
Accepted

Could White have won this double rook endgame?

48.Kf6 should be winning. After say 48...a2, white goes h4-h5-h6 and something involving ...Rh1, Rxa2 Rxh6+, Kg5 followed by Re2 will lead to the Lucena position. Much earlier on, I believe 31.Kg3 is ...
Ken Wei's user avatar
  • 1,423
7 votes

Drawn R+2P vs R endgame

Two connected pawns usually win, but with a+b pawns, there are some positions which are drawn. I do not know which game you're referring to, but here are some examples: [fen "8/8/8/3k4/pr6/4R3/1p6/...
Glorfindel's user avatar
  • 24.9k
7 votes

Endgame technique: How to win with rook + g and h pawn vs rook?

As we can see from the other answers, there are two things you should avoid: 1) The pawns getting blockaded. 2) Your king getting cut off from the pawns. It is not the only way to win, but as a ...
Dag Oskar Madsen's user avatar
7 votes

Why is the f7-g6-h5 pawn complex so important for black in rook endgames?

So just why is that f7-g6-h5 setup so important? Compare the two pawn structures below, one on the kingside where Black has achieved the f7-g6-h5 structure and one on the queenside where White has ...
Brian Towers's user avatar
  • 98.6k
7 votes
Accepted

How to win a rook endgame with two extra pawns-4 vs 2 general plan

My plan was to keep the Black rook on the 5th or 4th rank to cutoff the White king and advance the h and g pawns. But then what? Your plan is a bad one. The general rule in rook and pawn endgames is: ...
Brian Towers's user avatar
  • 98.6k
7 votes

Is this endgame drawn after the rook sacrifice?

After Rxc2 Kxc2 Kxf4 we reach the below position, which is a tablebase draw. The plan for White is really simple: queen the h-pawn (White can give up the rest of the pawns). Black king is too far away ...
AlwaysLearningNewStuff's user avatar
7 votes

A difficult rook ending

This answer is intended to expand upon my comments, and give some concrete lines. Let's discuss the position as I (mistakenly) first thought it was presented: [fen "R7/6p1/P3p1k1/7p/8/6PP/r7/4K3 ...
Scounged's user avatar
  • 7,998
6 votes

Is there an online database for the endgame KRPPKRP?

All of the Syzygy tablebases are available here: https://syzygy-tables.info/ These cover all endgames up to 7-man, and provide WDL (win-draw-loss) and DTZ (distance to zeroing move) data. Syzygy ...
Chromatix's user avatar
  • 1,679
6 votes

Understanding Carlsen's resignation in the rook and pawn endgame vs MVL

While it may appear that White can whisk around Black's rook and promote, there is a indeed problem that you have missed: Black can promote first! White's king is currently in check from Black's rook,...
Rewan Demontay's user avatar
6 votes

How does b4 fix pawns in this rook endgame?

It definitely prevents Black from playing ...c5, at least temporarely. I wouldn't say Black pawns are "fixed" though. Anyway, isn't Re7 a much stronger move?
David's user avatar
  • 16.3k
6 votes
Accepted

Ulf Andersson vs Robert Huebner 1981 rook endgame: the mistake here is Rd8 right?

The mystery is easily solved if you just follow a few alternatives with the engine. The point is simply that if White comes to b4, the Rc5 gets another protection. This means that after exd5 Rxd5, ...
Hauke Reddmann's user avatar
6 votes

Can a rook and King checkmate a bare King without zugzwang?

Of course not. This is Basic Endgames 101. The main principle lies in forcing the lone king back by getting the opposition. If the lone king can pass then the stronger side can never get the ...
Brian Towers's user avatar
  • 98.6k
5 votes
Accepted

Should white go for piece-a-piece or two rook endgame?

Black has an extra bishop and two extra pawns. Black is completely and easily winning, and white can't do anything really constructive. Black's easiest way to win is to promote a pawn to queen and ...
RemcoGerlich's user avatar
  • 28.2k
5 votes

Is this endgame position a draw?

This is a very late answer, but if you check 7-piece Lomonosov tablebases, it shows the original position is a draw. Here is a link to the proof.
ericw31415's user avatar
5 votes

How does black ensure a draw in this R+3P vs. r+2p endgame with all pawns on the same side?

The following explanation is for the general 3 vs 2 pawns on one side situation, which does apply also to this game. Of course the situation is the same whether the pawns are on the a-c files or on f-...
user1583209's user avatar
  • 20.8k
5 votes

Not in stalemate, but why is this a draw?

You most likely played 50 moves without a capture or a pawn move. This is called the 50-move rule, which results in a draw. Check back to around move 28. You should see the last capture/pawn move ...
Inertial Ignorance's user avatar
5 votes

Why is the f7-g6-h5 pawn complex so important for black in rook endgames?

This is a very common rook endgame at higher levels, and it is considered very important to know how to defend it at the 2000-rating level and above, and maybe even a little lower. The answer as to ...
PhishMaster's user avatar
  • 32.6k
5 votes

Fastest algorithm to give mate with K+R vs K on infinite large board as function of starting position

It is known that White can force mate from any starting position of K+R vs. K on a quarter-infinite board. It's probably too hard a problem to ask for an exact optimal strategy, but it's not too hard ...
Noam D. Elkies's user avatar
4 votes

Is there an online database for the endgame KRPPKRP?

The 7-men databases from Lomonosov are available for free via their Android app. I've analyzed the traffic between the app and server a while ago, and discovered that it's easy to 'fake' your own ...
Glorfindel's user avatar
  • 24.9k
4 votes

Fischer vs. Geller, Curacao Candidates 1962

Geller himself analyzed this endgame in The Application of Chess Theory. I'm not sure if it's quite as in-depth as you're looking for but I've reproduced the post-move-33 annotations here. [FEN ""] [...
Cleveland's user avatar
  • 7,584
4 votes

Is a rook ending where the winning side has a passed g and d pawns drawn?

By definition if there's a "winning side" and a "losing side" then the question is already answered :-) But seriously, if you just want K+R+P(d)+P(g) vs. K+R, that's within database range, so you can ...
Noam D. Elkies's user avatar

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible