62 votes

Demystifying Seirawan-Kasparov 1983 king and pawn endgame

In this game Kasparov is showing a perfect demonstration of the triangulation technique in order to Zugzwang the white king. To be in a Zugzwang means, any move loses or more generally, worsens your ...
Ellie's user avatar
  • 12k
31 votes
Accepted

Why do high rated players still take so much time to calculate a pawn endgame position close to a game that they (likely) had before?

But I thought at that level this position must have already occurred, or, more likely, be somewhat close enough to a previous one, that the players would play in a more automatic fashion. Not true. ...
NoseKnowsAll's user avatar
  • 5,773
22 votes
Accepted

Why is this position drawn?

In these rook-pawn endgames the key rule is that if the defending king reaches the queening square (h8 in this case) then the game is a draw. If the attacking king manages to control it (but not ...
Allure's user avatar
  • 26.5k
18 votes
Accepted

Are there rules for categorising all pawn-only endgames into won/drawn/lost?

Generally speaking, the side with the most pawns will win. The tempo provided by the extra pawn is usually enough to gain opposition and access to the key squares. Doubled pawns don't matter for this, ...
Glorfindel's user avatar
  • 24.8k
18 votes

Why do high rated players still take so much time to calculate a pawn endgame position close to a game that they (likely) had before?

But I thought at that level this position must have already occurred, or, more likely, be somewhat close enough to a previous one, that the players would play in a more automatic fashion. Playing in ...
Brian Towers's user avatar
  • 96.6k
16 votes

Are there rules for categorising all pawn-only endgames into won/drawn/lost?

While there are general rules, these rules have many exceptions and nuances. In the following position with White to move, both sides have a passed pawn, but the fact that Black's passed pawn is so ...
D M's user avatar
  • 18.8k
15 votes
Accepted

Can black win this pawn ending?

If we look at the position we see a number of things: Black's connected passed pawns mean that the white king must remain at all times in the rectangle a1-a3-d3-d1. The fact that the white king can ...
Brian Towers's user avatar
  • 96.6k
14 votes
Accepted

King+Knight vs King+Pawn checkmate

In the general case K+N vs K+P is of course a draw - or a win for the pawn if it can promote unhindered. There is however a famous construction were the knight can force a mate against a king stuck in ...
Evargalo's user avatar
  • 16k
14 votes

King+Knight vs King+Pawn checkmate

Just for the record, the longest win in this endgame is 7 moves: [FEN "8/8/8/8/p7/8/N7/k1K5 w - - 0 1"] 1. Nb4 a3 2. Nc2+ Ka2 3. Nd4 Ka1 4. Kc2 Ka2 5. Ne2 Ka1 6. Nc1 a2 7. Nb3# The idea in ...
Glorfindel's user avatar
  • 24.8k
13 votes
Accepted

How to proceed in this endgame position?

This is a very common kind of endgame, where you have a pawn majority on one side and fight against a single pawn in the center. Winning this is not difficult, but let's first look at your game... ...
user1583209's user avatar
  • 20.8k
12 votes
Accepted

Why is this King and Pawn ending lost for White?

If you want to evaluate this ending with general rules, the rule of key squares is a good way to deal with it. However, this rule doesn't say "whoever reaches a key square first will get the result he ...
Evargalo's user avatar
  • 16k
10 votes
Accepted

In a KP-K endgame, if the enemy king is in front of the pawn, is it always a draw?

If the king is on the sixth and the pawn is on the fifth (and it's not a rook pawn), then it's a win for the side with the pawn, no matter who has the move: [FEN "4k3/8/4K3/4P3/8/8/8/8 w - - 0 1"] ...
D M's user avatar
  • 18.8k
9 votes

Is the pawns only variant a draw?

EDIT: Now that I look closely, I have solved a different variant than what was asked. Probably this is interesting anyway :) The variant's rules are described here: http://www.chesscorner.com/tutorial/...
Sami Liedes's user avatar
9 votes

When can king and pawn win against another king and pawn?

As far as I can tell, in your proposed variant a player could always force a draw by placing the king in a reasonably centralized position, regardless of what the other side chooses. Even if he allows ...
D M's user avatar
  • 18.8k
9 votes

Why do high rated players still take so much time to calculate a pawn endgame position close to a game that they (likely) had before?

As others have mentioned, endgames in general are quite dependent on the specifics. It's true at some level that to grandmasters every endgame is "somewhat close enough to a previous one", ...
fish's user avatar
  • 273
8 votes

Who is better in this endgame?

Komodo 9.3 evaluates the position after 1.Kd5 (after searching to 31 ply) as +2.32 for White. Playing out a few lines, White usually ended up with Q+2P vs Q+P. It's not necessarily winning (Q+P ...
dfan's user avatar
  • 14.7k
8 votes

Demystifying Seirawan-Kasparov 1983 king and pawn endgame

This is a stunning endgame. It is impressive how Kasparov perfectly used reserve tempi to reach the winning position in the diagram where triangulation is all that remains after Seirawan's 40. e4?? ...
Michael West's user avatar
  • 5,206
7 votes
Accepted

Can someone explain this endgame puzzleto me with words?

To solve this you need to ask yourself 2 questions: 1) How could the position change so that Black can draw? White must try and avoid this. 2) How could the position change so that Black can no ...
Brian Towers's user avatar
  • 96.6k
7 votes

How to proceed in this endgame position?

I think you should avoid taking on e3, even though it is objectively winning, this gives your opponent a passed pawn on e-file and exposes your f3-pawn (which is a big headache for white), this ...
Akavall's user avatar
  • 6,496
7 votes
Accepted

How to think this end game puzzle and play this position

As you rightly point out Kc4 is forced for white and then whichever king has to move first loses. It is worth quickly checking if white can abandon the d5 pawn and go for the a5 with the intention of ...
Brian Towers's user avatar
  • 96.6k
7 votes

Why do high rated players still take so much time to calculate a pawn endgame position close to a game that they (likely) had before?

I cannot speak for the greatest, but it is probably still easier to calculate these positions than it is to memorize them; effectively selecting candidate moves is a learned skill, and subtle ...
Andrew Chin's user avatar
6 votes

Are there rules for categorising all pawn-only endgames into won/drawn/lost?

There is no general rule for multi-pawn endgames as they are much too complex. However I believe that most of the pawn only endgames that appear in regular games are readily assessed correctly by ...
user1583209's user avatar
  • 20.8k
6 votes

Why is this King and Pawn ending lost for White?

The point of all this is to be able to evaluate this basic position only by applying rules, not having to calculate the concrete variations. Well, the basic rule of (single) pawn endings is that if ...
Glorfindel's user avatar
  • 24.8k
6 votes

Is there an easy way to detect a draw in a King + Pawn vs King endgame?

For the sake of a quick evaluation, the fastest and safest method in my opinion is the rule of the two plusses. First, let's get rid of the cases where it doesn't apply. White has the pawn. If the ...
Evargalo's user avatar
  • 16k
6 votes

Eight pawns vs seven exercise: how to win?

I figured winning a pawn up in a pawn endgame is a useful skill to know It is a useful skill to know and an even more important skill to know is when a pawn-up endgame is a win and when it is a ...
Brian Towers's user avatar
  • 96.6k
6 votes
Accepted

4-2 vs 3-3 (only pawn) endgames arising from Sicilian/Anti Sicilian

King and pawn endgames are much easier than ones where each side also has a rook. The key principles are fairly simple. You want to try and queen a pawn. With pawns on both sides of the board and an ...
Brian Towers's user avatar
  • 96.6k
6 votes
Accepted

How to calculate corresponding squares

I think the term 'intersect' is not really intuitive here. From c2, the white king can go to d2 and c3 in one move. That means the black king must find a square from which it can reach f3 and e3 in ...
Glorfindel's user avatar
  • 24.8k
6 votes

Why is this position drawn?

Ke6-f7-g8-h8 and then the black king shuffles between h8 and g8. If white pushes the pawn to h7, it will lead to stalemate. The pawn can't be promoted. This is basic endgame theory and very useful to ...
nyymi's user avatar
  • 958
6 votes

Can black win this pawn ending?

Stockfish gives -8 on Lichess, analysis. And the reason is very simple actually. b and c pawns are protected passed pawns which means the white king cannot leave there. If it leaves, you will promote. ...
Minot's user avatar
  • 1,898
6 votes

Queen first, lose (or draw) later

[FEN "k7/8/1K6/1p6/3P4/8/8/8 w - - 0 1"] Obvious economy record. Hauke Reddmann, INSELSCHACH 1982 (no exact anticipation exists, but tons "in spirit"), White wins by 1.Kc7! ... 4.....
Hauke Reddmann's user avatar

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible