New answers tagged

3

You noticed immediately, which makes it very easy because in this case the rules are the same (apart from time penalty) for all forms of chess. In the first instance you have to take back the illegal move and make a legal move. If possible you have to move the piece you touched. So, if your king could legally move to another square that's the move you would ...


0

It depends on the tournament policy that you play. For some tournaments, there is a penalty such as losing the game if you have done 3 illegal moves. The procedure is generally like this: Your opponent should stop the clock and call the referee. The rest depends on the decision of the referee.


2

In this case you would just go back to the last turn. In official tournaments, a rule used is you get a penalty on the first time you make an illegal move, and then if you make 1-2 more illegal moves (for FIDE it's 1 more) you lose the game. But assuming this game was just for fun, as it seems no arbiter was involved to help out, just take the move back and ...


1

Origins of chess according to Wikipedia: The game originated in northern India in the 6th century and spread to Persia. When the Arabs conquered Persia, chess was taken up by the Muslim world and subsequently, through the Moorish conquest of Spain, spread to Southern Europe. And it's just not on wiki, this is very widely accepted as a fact. In India, ...


-1

To me it's a no-brainer. Just ask yourself, who is really in charge of the household in every culture of the world. The king is probably not at home or drunk. If I was a king and my people would play a game with a powerfull advisor I would command that the advisor should become my queen. Advisors are probably more keen on coups than the kings queen.


Top 50 recent answers are included