New answers tagged

3

FIDE ratings are governed by the FIDE Qualification Commission. It is their job to oversee and scrutinise matters relating to titles and ratings. Normally for ratings these things work in an automated, computerised way which doesn't require much oversight. However if something looks wrong regarding either ratings or titles then someone can contact a member ...


1

I would say it depends on the reason for doing so. Example if your purpose was to be able to play in tournament you otherwise would not qualify for then no. If it is just to achieve a personal goal then no. If it is to be able to get more students to pay for your coaching then yes. If it is to get more views on a you tube account then perhaps. So if in ...


8

The rules governing chess are the FIDE Laws of Chess. This point is explicitly covered in Article 3: The moves of the pieces 3.9.2 No piece can be moved that will either expose the king of the same colour to check or leave that king in check. The move f3 violates this rule because it exposes the king to check. As such it is an illegal move. Your program ...


21

The FIDE Rules Commission makes the rules and maintains them. There we can see who is making the rules. We see that, in general, they are arbiters and mostly not very strong players. Here is a list with their arbiter qualifications (FA = FIDE Arbiter, IA = International Arbiter), ratings (when they have them) and titles. Chairman - Abdulrahim, Mahdi IA 1349 (...


5

What is the criterion for a chess set to be used in FIDE tournaments? Actually there are several criteria for this. FIDE have published their relevant rules in Standards of Chess Equipment, venue for FIDE Tournaments, rate of play and tie-break regulations. The first requirement is that the tournament organizer and the chief arbiter approve. So, if you want ...


10

As I understand chess rules insufficient material means K vs. K, K vs. KB, or K vs. KN.(Correct me if I am wrong) Your understanding is wrong. the FIDE Laws of Chess have no "insufficient material" rule. What they do have is basically a "no helpmate" rule. Such a position is called a "dead position". That is to say that if ...


2

KB vs KB when both bishops are of the same color it is automatically declared draw by insufficient material. The same with KBB vs KBBB (theoretically possible), as long as all bishops move on OR white squares OR all of them on black squares. If just one bishop moves on a different color, someone can still win.


27

how do I register an official FIDE rating? You don't register a FIDE rating because you have no authority to assign yourself a FIDE rating. Only FIDE can do that. What you need to do is play in one or more FIDE rated tournaments where you: Play at least 5 games against players who already have a FIDE rating Score at least half a point against them Get a ...


1

All FIDE rated tournaments have to be registered in advance with FIDE. How long before varies according to the type of tournament but this means that FIDE know in advance when a tournament will be and they publish this information on their website. The general page is here. This includes a drop down box at the top which allows you to select a particular ...


18

What should I do? You should ask the arbiter for permission. Elderly men often suffer from prostate problems which increase the frequency of need to go to the toilet. If this is you then talk to the arbiter before the event and explain the situation and get permission before the need arises. According to the FIDE Laws of Chess: 11.2.1 The ‘playing venue’ ...


1

It might be worth noting that so far as the FIDE laws are concerned the full touch move rule is the main rule that dictates that each player may move only his own pieces. In the FIDE rendering the full touch move rule is art. 4.3, stating: 4.3 Except as provided in Article 4.2, if the player having the move touches on the chessboard,with the intention of ...


3

Could FIDE make a rule allowing for a visual announcement of check and checkmate? Rule changes have to be approved by the rules commission. Rule changes are only made after extensive discussion and deliberation. Adding an unnecessary source of distraction like this is a bad idea so, while in theory they could, it is unlikely that such a suggestion would ...


5

I suppose they could make whatever rules they want, but it would seem to be unnecessary. According to the FIDE Laws of Chess: 5.1.1 The game is won by the player who has checkmated his opponent’s king. This immediately ends the game, provided that the move producing the checkmate position was in accordance with Article 3 and Articles 4.2 – 4.7. The game is ...


2

Running queries against rating data downloaded from the FIDE rating data download page gives the following average standard, rapid and blitz ratings for players with the GM title over 50 and under 50: 50+ Std=2441 Rpd=2428 Blz=2412 U50 Std=2532 Rpd=2521 Blz=2515 Surprisingly that looks like no real difference to me. GMs over 50 are understandably, on average,...


5

Chess historian Edward Winter devotes a whole article to "J'Adoube". He notes various early references to a "touch-move" rule before gviving a clue to the answer to Where did this rule come from? As Winter's consideration of the Matulovic affair shows it comes from an attempt to thwart natural tendencies to cheat when there is a lot at ...


4

The rule was established in the Middle Ages because many people would play with stakes and people would often touch pieces and then not move the piece for example the. As chess got bigger federations like FIDE and USCF adopted the rule which was created to stop people from confusing the players and to save time.


25

If you are just going to re-center a piece on its square, without intention to play it, the typical way is to inform your opponent beforehand with the traditionnal, worldwide used sentence: J'adoube. In English-speaking tournaments, sometimes players say instead I adjust. Among strong players, if it is absolutely obvious that you are not going to play a ...


1

The FIDE Laws of Chess are explicit: 3.7.5.1 When a player, having the move, plays a pawn to the rank furthest from its starting position, he must exchange that pawn as part of the same move for a new queen, rook, bishop or knight of the same colour on the intended square of arrival. This is called the square of ‘promotion’. So, the answer to Does a ...


Top 50 recent answers are included