New answers tagged

3

Sure. See Wiki: Resignation in won positions. Some examples: Ignatz von Popiel vs. Georg Marco 1902 Gyorgy Negyesy vs. Karoly Honfi 1955 Raul Sanguineti vs. Miguel Najdorf Victor Korchnoi vs. Geert van der Stricht Even Karsten Müller in h endgame series talks about how GMs (or at least pros) have resigned in drawish(/winning?) positions.


2

Similar things have happened, but it's not because one player misevaluated the position. Source Having beaten down the desperate resistance of the opponent, [GM David Navara] achieved the position where either mate or the loss of the rook was inevitable and at that moment he offered a draw. The situation was clarified by both Grandmasters. David Navara: – ...


8

Some quick Googling suggests that the rules (or at least some sets of rules) do allow you to refuse a resignation from your opponent This does not reflect the FIDE Laws of Chess. According to Article 5.1.2: 5.1.2 The game is won by the player whose opponent declares he resigns. This immediately ends the game. This means that no player, GM or otherwise, is ...


21

The official source that people link to when this question comes up is Tim Krabbe's excellent blog post from more than 20 years ago now: The ultimate blunder. He collected every single game in the database (pre 1999) where someone resigned in a winning position and explained the possible reasons behind the resignation for each game as well. Some very famous ...


Top 50 recent answers are included