New answers tagged

1

https://www.fide.com/news/344 Looks like he is under investigation and under suspicions of cheating. His actual rating has not changed either...


1

I would say it depends on the reason for doing so. Example if your purpose was to be able to play in tournament you otherwise would not qualify for then no. If it is just to achieve a personal goal then no. If it is to be able to get more students to pay for your coaching then yes. If it is to get more views on a you tube account then perhaps. So if in ...


8

Let's start by debunking some of the false assumptions in your post. Draw offer in worse position The idea that this could be regarded as an "unreasonable draw offer" is nonsensical. Even when there is a material imbalance, which position is worse is often a subjective matter. Certainly at the level of expertise of the average arbiter you don't ...


7

There is no such rule. It would be against etiquette for one side to offer a draw repeatedly, or to offer one in a position which is a certain loss. FIDE rule 11.5 lists "unreasonable offers of a draw" as one thing that can constitute distracting or annoying an opponent, which is prohibited. In an official over-the-board game, the proper time to ...


0

There is no silver bullet / “single size fits all” response - there will be occasions when it’s advisable / etiquette to give different responses (if any) accordingly. I provide a couple of examples to illustrate. Depends upon opponent. If you’re playing your partners father, say, then yeah say “good game” to keep the peace with the outlaws ;) If it’s a ...


Top 50 recent answers are included