Skip to main content
11 votes

Why was this a draw? What move I supposed to play to win?

After 52. Kd2 the White King has no legal moves. The move 52...g3? does not give a check and results in a stalemate since the White King may not move into check. A stalemate results in a draw; IM ...
SecretAgentMan's user avatar
9 votes

Why was this a draw?

This is a draw as the White King is stalemated. After 45...Rb1??, the White King has no legal moves but is not in check. Since White's King cannot move into check, the King cannot move to the... h1, ...
SecretAgentMan's user avatar
5 votes

Why was this a draw? What move I supposed to play to win?

Keeping in mind that it's illegal to make a move that leaves your own king up for capture by an enemy piece: Stalemate occurs when a player has no legal moves available on his turn but his king isn't ...
David's user avatar
  • 16.4k
5 votes

Are positions with different physical pieces on two squares but same kind and same color, considered the same?

Yes, this is the same position. Fide Handbook: 9.2.2 Positions are considered the same if and only if the same player has the move, pieces of the same kind and colour occupy the same squares and the ...
Evargalo's user avatar
  • 16.5k
2 votes dosn't apply fide rule?

Are there other rules that don't apply on Here is one: declares the game draw when you lose on time and your opponent has just knight or bishop left. ICC does that too, but the ...
Nils Lindemann's user avatar
1 vote

Does a KQQ vs KQ endgame position with perpetual check exist?

Black has a perpetual check and all of White's moves are forced. [FEN "5k2/1Q6/8/8/8/7q/8/6QK w - - 0 1"] 1. Qh2 Qf1+ 2. Qg1 Qh3+
Lucenaposition's user avatar

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible