I think a sort of "normalization" would be an indicator of a well-played game. However I don't think your specific definition of the term is a particularly useful one. To start, some positions will be normalized quickly out of pure luck. Others will be normalized too but only considering absurd sequences, so it doesn't make relate at all to the ...
I have seen some games in chess 960 between Grand Masters and it seems that whatever the starting position is, the game normalizes quite early
Perhaps worth starting by examining what has to happen for a 960 game to reach what you call a "normalized" position.
For each bishop at least one pawn move which allows the bishop to move has to be made
If you search for a guy by the name of Larry Smith, he has produced numerous rule sets for tri dimensional chess, although they appear to be directly reverse engineering games played on the Star Trek television series.
The official rules of the World Tri Dimensional Chess Federation start with the king and queen in the centre of the rear rank, flanked by two ...
If this discussion is about 打ち歩詰め, one hypothesis is
Betray and kill the king by the lowest rank piece is forbidden when Sengoku Period(Japanese warring period).
And the other consideration is
Since there are 18 pawns altogether from both players, using them for winning spoils the nature of game Shogi.
It depends greatly on the position. If you are attacking you can trade one pair of bishops and still have a dark/light bishop. It will be unopposed. Also in the end game if you have a single pawn and the queening square is your bishops pair color, it is an advantage.
Here is a rule that I think works:
Every piece you capture can be dropped by your partner only after his/her next move.
This prevents the situation you mentioned. Of course, it is still possible to reach a situation where each team has the turn at one board but does not want to move, but the specific problem you ask about would be mostly eliminated.
Are you familiar with the variant known as Crazyhouse? Basically, if you capture an opponent's piece, you can spend a later turn to place it anywhere you like on the board, as your own piece. This creates a situation where same-coloured bishops are possible, should you so choose.
The ability to create bishop 'batteries' can be quite good, presuming that you ...
And the correct answer, as always, is: "it depends on the position" :-)
OK, assume that you start with Bb1/Nc1. Lichess says +0.1. But this is the sum of...
the N generally standing a bit ugly on c1/f1, from my positional feeling
the B doing some concrete attacking (Stockfish unsubtly starts with c3)
other random concrete aspects
the question you ...
To resolve an awkward or problematic position of the own pieces into an acceptable outcome.
This one is bit abstract, so let me try to explain it. The philosophy behind “Sabaki” should mean “please try to utilize all your pieces.”
And Official Guidebook says
"Move your piece which does not work well into ...