26

This is really a question for fairly low-rated players, who tend to play things out to the bitter end. If you are reasonably strong, the only reason your opponent does not resign earlier is that he thought you played such a good game that he allows you to execute the checkmate (I have done this), or thinks that the final position is beautiful, and saw it ...


17

Kh7 would also result in mate due to Qh5. So both moves are equally "good" Kf8 Rg8 maybe was seen as less obvious than Qh5.


11

First, kids and adults, the rules are the same, so there is no difference there. What you are asking about goes beyond just the rules: It comes down to intent. Whether an adult, or kid, there could be an erroneous claim; and if it is really just that, then the TD should just fix it assuming it is caught in time. It is just a mistake. Other types of ...


11

There's nothing impolite about delivering checkmate in the same fashion that you'd make any other move. If anything, e.g. in formal games and when there's no risk of losing on time, it might be considered bad etiquette by the losing player to continue playing on in a completely hopeless position, instead, players usually resign before the checkmate occurs (...


9

Checkmate ends the game immediately, so there is no need to press the clock after it. Best is to play it as a normal move, look at your opponent and usually they'll shake hands. You can say "checkmate" as you move or if he doesn't immediately realize. Just don't overdo it :-) Sometimes you mistakenly think it's checkmate. I once did (in extreme time ...


9

It does not have any special name. I have been playing for 40 years, and I have never seen it given any specific name. Here is a very good list of named mates, and as you can see, your position is not among them.


5

The position with the longest known sequence away from checkmate haa a mate in 553 moves. It is a computer verified extension of the famous 549 mover (as mentioned in @Phishmaster's answer) found by Lutz Neweklowsky. By "verified," I mean Stockfish agrees with the moves that occur until a 7-piece position occurs, and then we know 100% it is correct from ...


2

Checkmate ends the game - there is no agreement/concession involved. If it’s not checkmate the game has not ended. And a handshake is not a move which needs to be “retracted”. If the error was only realised significantly later, then maybe it’s a different case. I can see that an arbiter might deem the handshake to be a resignation. But that’s not the case ...


1

It usually “checkmate, endgame, thanks for the game”


1

That is not a checkmate. The opponent is right in taking the offending pawn en passant.


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible