50

Initial Analysis White is clearly in a dire situation, since Black is threatening mate in one on either h7 or h8 if White doesn't do anything. But the White king can't move move nor can White get rid of any of the pawns that surround the king. White's rook, the only White piece, is too far away to do anything. The move 1. Ra8? to try and stop 1... Qh8# fails ...


48

Double check is only possible by using discovered check. So either the rook check or the bishop check was discovered by moving something in between on the previous move. I don't see how that's possible with the rook check, but it is possible with the bishop -- if the board is shown with black at the bottom, contrary to what is usually done. Then there could ...


46

As a starter here is a solution in 7 moves: Can we do better ? [FEN ""] 1.g3 e5 2.Bh3 Ke7 3.Bxd7 Kxd7 4.Kf1 Ke7 5. Kg2 Ke6 6.Kh3 Kf6+ 7.Kh4 Kg6# If this is best, interestingly, the play is almost forced. The only variations are 4...Kd6 or 4...Ke7 in the line above, or 4...Ke6 and 5...Kf5, or 3.Kf1 Kd6/Ke8 4.Bxd7 Kxd7 5.Kg2 Ke6 etc. Only five possible ...


46

It is not checkmate because Black can interpose a piece to block the check from the bishop: move knight or queen to e6. It's still only a miniscule delay for the inevitable. [FEN "1rk4r/1p6/3p3q/Q1pPbRnP/p1P3B1/P6P/1P4R1/7K w - - 0 1"] 1.Rf7+ Ne6 (1...Qe6 2.Qc7#) 2.Qc7# 1-0


40

It's impossible to checkmate faster than 7 turns (handicap on black) or 8 turns (handicap on white). Proof by elimination I'm going to argue from the perspective that white is helping and black is handicapped, since otherwise it would take 1 more move. Only Queen, Bishops and Rooks can be used by the black player to threaten the white king, as only they ...


34

Welcome to Chess Stack Exchange. I believe you're doing well here. It is surely a checkmate. Probably the website isn't programmed that way to recognize that move. But, as per your question, this is clearly a checkmate that resembles the one-rook-mate pattern.


33

If you drive an enemy king into a corner, you still need to control four different squares to checkmate him. Your king can control two of those squares (but cannot approach the enemy king), your knight can control the third, but there is no way of controlling the fourth. That is, it is impossible for the knight to control both the corner square and the one ...


32

One amazing game I know that ends in a pawn mate in one called The Polish Immortal in which Black sacrifices all four minor pieces to win the game! The pawn does a double-step to give the mate. [Title "Glucksberg-Miguel Najdorf, Warsaw Poland, 1929, The Polish Immortal"] [FEN ""] 1.d4 f5 2.c4 Nf6 3.Nc3 e6 4.Nf3 d5 5.e3 c6 6.Bd3 Bd6 7.O-O ...


31

I want to offer a semi-realistic example. I think I have seen something like this in a game by masters in some book, but of course I cannot recall where. But this is something that at least can be realistically missed in calculations from far away. [FEN "6k1/5ppp/6r1/3b4/4r3/8/1Q5P/1R5K w - - 0 1"] White just gives a back rank mate, right? :) ...


30

No, this is not possible. for example move the piece, don't press the clock and then resign? In particular, that loophole is explicitly covered by the rules: 6.2.1 During the game each player, having made his move on the chessboard, shall stop his own clock and start his opponent’s clock (that is to say, he shall press his clock). This “completes” the ...


29

It is not checkmate if the other player has any legal move that gets them out of check. Capturing the checking piece is one such way; whether the capture is en passant or not is irrelevant for the purpose of this question. In this case, an en passant capture is the only legal move. If the other player didn't know the en passant rule, I suppose they might ...


29

White to play checkmates in 2 with 1 d4+! exd3 e.p. 2 Qbf4#. Black to play cannot checkmate in 2 but should win after Bxf7. 7r/1p3Q1p/2q5/3bk3/1Q2p3/2P5/r2P2PP/2KR4 w - - 0 1 1. d4+! exd3 2. Qbf4


28

I know you're a FIDE Master :), so I suppose you're more interested in this question from a teaching perspective. The simplest way to understand a checkmate with King and Rook vs King is the idea of the rectangle of the opposing king. Consider this position- Here, the Black King is restricted by the White Rook in this giant rectangular area of the ...


26

The position shown in board 2 is not a checkmate, as you correctly say. The book is not completely clear here. The sentence "Checkmate with Queen and King" is only the task of an exercise: you have to set up the position you see on a real board, and move the pieces trying to checkmate the black king using the white Queen and King. The checkmate is not ...


26

There are no checkmates from 0-3 ply. 4 ply: 8 checkmates, 197,281 total nodes 5 ply: 347 checkmates, 4,865,609 total nodes 6 ply: 10,828 checkmates, 119,060,324 total nodes 7 ply: 435,767 checkmates, 3,195,901,860 total nodes 8 ply: 9,852,036 checkmates, 84,998,978,956 total nodes 9 ply: 400,191,963 checkmates, 2,439,530,234,167 total nodes "checkmates" ...


25

It is a nice little puzzle: 3k4/3P4/3Q4/8/8/8/8/4K3 w - - 3 13 1. Qd5 Kc7/Ke7 2. d8=Q# 1-0


24

This is really a question for fairly low-rated players, who tend to play things out to the bitter end. If you are reasonably strong, the only reason your opponent does not resign earlier is that he thought you played such a good game that he allows you to execute the checkmate (I have done this), or thinks that the final position is beautiful, and saw it ...


24

Probably more often than people realize. There have been several notable instances where GMs (even world champions) have missed simple mates in one. From my own experience, when I analyze my games the engine frequently will point out some ridiculous 25 move forced mate. In a game, I'm not going to take the time to calculate something like that out if I have ...


23

Actually, the bishop and knight mate is not as slippery as it appears. I have checked this on a tablebase program I wrote. On a 10x10 board, the side with the bishop and knight (say white) can force mate in at most 47 moves. White can even force mate on a 16x16 board, in at most 93 moves. I believe mate can be forced on an arbitrarily large even size ...


23

I can think of two questions you might be meaning to ask, given the wording of your question. Maybe neither of these is what you're after, but just in case: 1. Is it possible to castle out of check or even checkmate? Here the answer is no. If your king is in check, then castling is not a legal move. 2. Is it possible to castle while checkmating your ...


23

Most basic first - this rule is the reason that King vs King is an immediate draw. Neither side has a piece to check with, let alone checkmate with. A position that is a draw because neither side can win is called a "dead position". Playing against a bare king, a bishop or a knight is insufficient to checkmate with, and therefore K+B v K and K+N v K is ...


23

In a tournament game, you are not supposed to speak at all other than to offer a draw or adjust a piece. This includes saying check. This tends to seep into casual games among more experienced players (I haven't said check in years). For players that do not compete in tournaments at all, I don't think that there is any obligation to point it out. When ...


23

Imagine a variation of chess without the rules about check and checkmate, where a player wins simply when he captures his opponent's king. In this variation, Kxd5 loses the game to exd5. Turns out, that's more or less how real chess works. The objective is to capture the opponent's king. If your king is under attack, you must deal with that threat. If there'...


22

Keres-Arlamowski 1950, comes very close [FEN ""] [Event "Szczawno Zdroj"] [Date "1950"] [Result "1-0"] [White "Paul Keres"] [Black "Edward Arlamowski"] 1. e4 c6 2.Nc3 d5 3.Nf3 dxe4 4.Nxe4 Nf6 5.Qe2 Nbd7 6.Nd6# 1-0 I heard Mr Arlamovski was an IM at the time - but given Keres' level, and the fact that there were many fewer IM's back then - probably puts ...


22

I always like to explain this in a visual way. Basic Idea: Keep the bishops together. They form a large net (restricted area) from which the opponent king cannot escape. Step 1: Push Opponent's King To Edge Rank or File Keeping the bishops together and using the king for support, make the restricted area smaller to push the opponent's king back to an ...


22

4 moves, as far as I can tell. [FEN ""] 1. e3 e5 2. Ke2 Qh4 3. Kf3 d6 4. Qe2 e4# Another one: [FEN ""] 1. d3 d5 2. Kd2 e5 3. Kc3 Be6 4. Qd2 d4# And one more: [FEN ""] 1. e3 e5 2. Ke2 d5 3. Kd3 Qf6 4. Qe2 e4# Same theme for all of them, really.


22

[FEN "1B1Q1Q2/2R5/pQ4QN/RB2k3/1Q5Q/N4Q2/K2Q4/6Q1 w - - 0 1 "] 105 mates — Nenad Petrovic, Sahovski Vjesnika 1947 (Chess Problem Database) In this position any check is mate. There are 3 knight mates (c4, g4, f7), 23 discovered mates (14 moves for the rook on c7, 9 for the bishop on b5), and 79 queen mates: 1 on a1, 2 on b2, 3 on c3, 4 on c5, 6 on d4, 3 on ...


21

No. The touch-move rule can't force you to make an illegal move, and it is not legal to put yourself in check. Here's what the FIDE laws of chess say: 4.5 If none of the pieces touched in accordance with Article 4.3 or Article 4.4 can be moved or captured, the player may make any legal move


21

The sidebar says "1. Qe7# (1. Qc8#) (1. Qb8#)". In case you're not yet familiar with chess notation, this means: 1​. (White's move number 1) Q (the Queen) e7 (moves to space E7) # (and checkmates.) After that, your move "(1. Qc8#)" is highlighted in red, indicating it was not one of the answers they were looking for. But note that it is ...


20

Is it really possible to checkmate with two knights and king against a king? Theoretically, the checkmate is possible, but you can not do it in practice unless the weaker side allows you to. This is related to a drawback in the way knight moves. There is a mating position with this but no extra tempo to do it in real game. What are the ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible