New answers tagged

1

"If you want to determine whether a player is in check", then consider each opposing unit in turn. If it observes the turn player's king, the turn player is in check. Andrew's answer goes some way to explaining how one might do this, but missed the subtlety that an enemy line-piece's line of attack on the turn player's king might be obstructed by ...


3

As others have pointed out, triple check is never legal in chess. It is, however, possible, even though no possible triple check is legal. One context where this is relevant is in framing the rules of the game. The rules must be written so as to enable the reader who does not yet know what is legal, to learn this. In this answer, Brian Towers details a ...


Top 50 recent answers are included