Skip to main content
87 votes
Accepted

Is it sportsmanlike to waste opponents' time by giving check at the end of the game?

That only works in blitz time controls with no increment. If you accept games with no increment you are basically agreeing that flagging is part of the game and sportsmanlike. If you personally find ...
Brian Towers's user avatar
  • 98.5k
50 votes

Is it sportsmanlike to waste opponents' time by giving check at the end of the game?

In blitz, time is a major factor in the game, and it is fine to try and win on time. If you used too much time, and your opponent thinks he can flag you, there is nothing wrong with that. It is part ...
PhishMaster's user avatar
  • 32.6k
49 votes

Must one say "queen check" before capturing a queen?

The official FIDE laws of chess do not know about a queen check. Announcing a "queen check“ might even be considered a case of "to distract or annoy the opponent“ (11.5). Even announcing a &...
Christian H. Kuhn's user avatar
42 votes

Is it sportsmanlike to waste opponents' time by giving check at the end of the game?

Time is a resource in blitz chess, as much as or even more so than material. If it isn't unsportsmanlike to capture your opponent's material, how is it unsportsmanlike to capture their time? In ...
John Coleman's user avatar
  • 2,501
39 votes

Can a player in check win, by checkmating the opponent, while not getting themselves out of check?

For this kind of question, if you have doubts, just play chess with the goal of capturing the enemy king. The first player to capture the enemy king wins. This isn't the official rule, but it's ...
Allure's user avatar
  • 27.9k
37 votes
Accepted

When capturing en passant, is a position possible such that there is a pin over the square of the taken pawn, rather than the taking pawn?

Really interesting question. I think the following shows that such a situation is sort of possible, depending on how you define the pin. [StartFlipped "0"] [FEN "7k/4p3/8/2KP3r/8/8/8/8 ...
Cleveland's user avatar
  • 7,584
37 votes

Can a player in check win, by checkmating the opponent, while not getting themselves out of check?

According the FIDE LAWS of CHESS: 3.9.2 No piece can be moved that will either expose the king of the same colour to check or leave that king in check. So as @djnavas points out, if you are in check ...
Snostorp's user avatar
  • 507
31 votes

Must one say "queen check" before capturing a queen?

No. Some people think it is polite to say 'gardez' to alert a player that the Q can be taken. But no rule says you have to say check nor gardez and in serious games with good players it is not done. ...
pro writer's user avatar
29 votes

Is it sportsmanlike to waste opponents' time by giving check at the end of the game?

waste their time If it's clear that they are able to win within the time they have left, this could be considered bad sportsmanship. However, in those situations the number of remaining checks is ...
Glorfindel's user avatar
  • 24.9k
27 votes
Accepted

How many queens can check a king without it being checkmate (with no other pieces on the board)?

The question asks for "no other pieces on the board" apart from white queens and a black king. So the other answers looking for legal positions seem to be missing the point. If we're looking ...
Especially Lime's user avatar
25 votes
Accepted

Moving into check for a draw as black, why is it illegal? Comparison to Racing Kings

Imagine a variation of chess without the rules about check and checkmate, where a player wins simply when he captures his opponent's king. In this variation, Kxd5 loses the game to exd5. Turns out, ...
MattPutnam's user avatar
22 votes
Accepted

Is triple check possible?

Triple check is impossible, unless you want to count an x-ray attack as the third check. A queen and rook attacking on the same file is normally thought to be one check.
Fred Knight's user avatar
  • 3,142
21 votes

Is triple check possible?

To look at this systematically, let's say white is attempting to triple-check black. At the start of white's move, black's king is not in check. So we have to go from zero checks to three checks. When ...
Steve Bennett's user avatar
21 votes
Accepted

Why did white sacrifice knight in this Nimzowitsch's 1905 game?

White has a mating threat (Qxh7 Kxh7 Rh6#) that he couldn't execute because he was under check. On the next move Black will remove the mating threat with 1...Qxg6 or with a knight move, most probably ...
Evargalo's user avatar
  • 16.4k
20 votes

Why is offering draw not recorded but giving a check recorded?

Both recording checks and draw offers are personal preference, and neither is required in your notation. I actually do record both checks as "+" or "++", and draw offers as "(d)". I know I am not the ...
PhishMaster's user avatar
  • 32.6k
20 votes
Accepted

Why is offering draw not recorded but giving a check recorded?

According to the FIDE Laws of Chess: Appendix C. Algebraic notation C.12 The offer of a draw shall be marked as (=) As with a number of the laws regarding recording of the moves this is not ...
Brian Towers's user avatar
  • 98.5k
18 votes

Moving into check for a draw as black, why is it illegal? Comparison to Racing Kings

Those are just the rules of the game. You could absolutely try to make the case that moving into check in such a situation should be legal, but playing by those rules wouldn't be chess anymore (it ...
Inertial Ignorance's user avatar
17 votes

Moving into check for a draw as black, why is it illegal? Comparison to Racing Kings

I will answer from a different perspective: why Racing Kings (RK) has a rule to allow black a chance to draw, and why the same logic doesn't apply to chess. What is Racing Kings (RK)? Background for ...
Remellion's user avatar
  • 5,040
16 votes

Can a player in check win, by checkmating the opponent, while not getting themselves out of check?

No, this is not legal. The fact that the black king is still in check from the white rook overrides every other consideration. It doesn't matter that (were it not for the white rook) Black's move ...
Rosie F's user avatar
  • 6,425
15 votes

How do computers play three-check chess?

I have been working on the aforementioned code of Stockfish for three-check chess, so I will try to summarize the most important evaluation changes (in terms of Elo gain) we made compared to standard ...
Fabian Fichter's user avatar
14 votes

Must one say "queen check" before capturing a queen?

The important part is that you and your friend agree on what to say and when. If you both agree that queen check (or gardez) is a nice thing to say, then go ahead and say it. I suggest taking the time ...
Stig Hemmer's user avatar
13 votes
Accepted

How do computers play three-check chess?

https://github.com/ddugovic/Stockfish Very active development, this is the Stockfish version used by lichess. What you need to do is search this macro: #ifdef THREECHECK Evaluation function: ...
SmallChess's user avatar
  • 22.6k
13 votes

Can a king be checked with another king when checking square is protected by the side which gives the check?

Hi David and welcome to chess.stackexchange.com. This is a common question. It's illegal to move a king into check, or to leave it in check. This includes moving a king adjacent to the opposing king....
Laska's user avatar
  • 12.2k
12 votes
Accepted

What is the theoretical limit for the number of consecutive checks?

37 is the record so far without promoted pieces. [Title "Giuseppe Ponzetto, Torre i Cavallo 1993, 37 Consecutive Checks"] [FEN "4r1Q1/B2nr3/5b2/8/4p3/4KbNq/ppppppp1/RR3Nkn w - - 0 1&...
Rewan Demontay's user avatar
12 votes
Accepted

Checkless Chess

Your "checkless" chess AI would run into problems with the stalemate rule. It would consider the poaition with white king on a6, white pawn a7, black king a8, a win for White because wherever Black ...
bof's user avatar
  • 3,852
12 votes
Accepted

Series of illegal moves in check

The answer depends on whether or not the games are being recorded. The way this is elliptically referenced in the FIDE Laws of Chess is that a distinction is made between, on the one hand, standard ...
Brian Towers's user avatar
  • 98.5k
11 votes

Is it true that at any time only one piece can put king in check?

If you include a pawn that has just been promoted to a rook, then yes, it is quite possible to give check with two rooks simultaneously. Consider the position where White has Ke1 Re6 e7 g7, and Black ...
Jivan Scarano's user avatar
11 votes

Is triple check possible?

Triple check is possible in the chess variant known as Cylinder Chess. In this position, 1.Ra8 discovers check from the queen and bishop, so it's triple or maybe quadruple check, depending on whether ...
bof's user avatar
  • 3,852
11 votes

If a pawn is promoted to queen beside the king is the king instantly in check?

Per FIDE Chess Laws, rule 3.1, a piece is said to attack an opponent’s piece if the player’s piece can make a capture on that square (and in one more special case not relevant here). In full: It is ...
Jirka Hanika's user avatar

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible