New answers tagged

15

I suppose what is comes down to is that the way 3.8.2 is written can be argued to have a syntactic ambiguity. 3.8.2 can mean either "This is a move of the king, and either rook of the same colour, along the player’s first rank," or "This is a move of the king and either rook of the same colour along the player’s first rank." There's no ...


15

Is there any glaring flaw in this rules lawyer case, or is it solid until FIDE fixes it? Yes, there is a glaring flaw in your case. The rook and king have to be on the same rank. This is clear from the text of the rule and the diagrams which follow. Here is the text from the latest FIDE Laws of Chess: 3.8.2 by ‘castling’. This is a move of the king and ...


1

White hasn't lost his castling rights. It's just not a legal move right now. There is a distinction. White would still be able to castle king-side, if the bishop were to move.


1

The history of some chess positions can be determined with certainty and some cannot. PRA looks at each alternative history and finds their different solutions. These typically revolve around if the right to castle exist, then you have some solution; or if last move allows en-passant then another solution exists. RS involves 'mutual dependency', for ...


Top 50 recent answers are included