66

From the FIDE Laws of Chess: 50-move rule: 9.3 The game is drawn, upon a correct claim by a player having the move, if: (...) the last 50 moves by each player have been completed without the movement of any pawn and without any capture. 75-move rule: 9.6 If one or both of the following occur(s) then the game is drawn: (...) any series of at ...


21

Yes. [Event "Northumbria Masters"] [Site "Newcastle"] [Date "2018.02.18"] [Round "8"] [White "Britton, Richard L"] [Black "Hebden GM, Mark L"] [ECO "C89"] [WhiteElo "2255"] [BlackElo "2454"] [Result "1/2-1/2"] [fen ""] 1. e4 e5 2. Nf3 Nc6 3. Bb5 a6 4. Ba4 Nf6 5. O-O Be7 6. Re1 b5 7. Bb3 O-O 8. c3 d6 9. h3 Nb8 10. d4 Nbd7 11. Nbd2 Bb7 12. Bc2 Re8 13. Nf1 ...


12

Although the responses all were intended to answer the question, they all fell slightly short. The 75-move rule was implemented so that an arbiter could adjudicate a game as drawn in a clearly drawn position when both players were electing to play on, hoping that their opponent would falter. Usually in cases where a draw was as good as a lost for both ...


5

Here is my email conversation with the head of the FIDE Arbiter's Commission, Laurent Freyd. In essence, for now, until they add a clarification, and arbiter would be correct ruling either way. That said, he says that he teaches new arbiters that once the game has ended, they do not go back and change the result after the fact. In other words, they still ...


5

Signed scoresheets matter The other answers go into detail of what would be the correct result of the game. However, that is irrelevant because you say The scoresheet is signed as a loss. And FIDE laws 8.7 state At the conclusion of the game both players shall sign both scoresheets, indicating the result of the game. Even if ...


5

The FIDE Laws of Chess (I'm giving a link to the version in the Arbiter's Handbook because FIDE have Munged their own site) do give a definitive answer but it takes some searching to find. The key appears in the section on the Chess clock! 6.2.1 During the game each player, having made his move on the chessboard, shall stop his own clock and start his ...


5

are the (optional) threefold-repetition rule and the (mandatory) fivefold-repetition strictly necessary? Yes, they are necessary. Something which players sometimes forget is that arbiters are people too. We have homes to go to with warm beds waiting. If both players refuse to agree a draw but also refuse to make an effort to win and start repeating the ...


3

An important, but not the sole, reason for allowing draws in chess (outside of stalemate) is to prevent infinitely long games. Hence, when helpmate is unachievable for either side (a condition loosely termed "insufficient material"), a draw is immediately declared. Now, n-fold repetition is introduced so that draws can be claimed in positions where ...


3

Answers to all 4 questions Q1: Under the 3-fold repetition & 50-move rules, how many times can a diagram occur? A1: Even if it were mandatory, the 50-move rule has no impact: the answer is still 22 as per Rewan's post: 2 (occurrences without triggering the draw) x 2 (White or Black to move) x 5 (number of castling rights intact: 4->3->2-&...


3

EDIT: Final calculation matches actual proof game exactly. That’s a nice new chess-math question, which deserves wider circulation. Begin by promoting a White pawn as quickly as possible, because until that happens, White is just haemorrhaging pawn moves. Now can promote a second pawn more slowly. This promoted piece is captured by Black pawn to open a file, ...


3

In short: Art. 5 lists situations that end the game immediately. Checkmate, stalemate, resignation, draw by agreement, dead position. Those end the game even if it is not noticed. All other ends need a valid claim (2nd irregular move) or at least someone who observes it (flag fall). And that is the case here: Art. 9.6 says that the game is drawn in the cases ...


2

No, checkmate or resignation ends the game. 9.6 says that if you have 75 moves or a 5-fold repetition, that the game is automatically drawn, and that no one needs to claim it. That said, checkmate still ends the game, so if that happens on the 75th move, it is over. You still need to realize that you have made the appropriate number of moves, and if you ...


1

Apparently this has occurred in real life and the FIDE Arbiters Commission has delivered their verdict in an article in their twice yearly FIDE Arbiters' Magazine. In the September 2018 edition it reports on an occurrence in the "First Saturday tournament in Hungary" in May 2018 in a game between IM Akshat Khamparia (IND) and IM Bo Li (CHN). This ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible