Skip to main content
13 votes

The 50 moves game

I have managed 106 single moves (see below). As OP notes, if 12 pawns promote, capturing the other 4 pawns, then all captures by officers must be on 1st/8th ranks. So that would be 88+26=114. Can this ...
Laska's user avatar
  • 12.1k
11 votes
Accepted

Can Loss by Checkmate be Avoided by Invoking the 50-Move Rule Immediately After the 100th Half-Move?

Can player B invoke 9.3.2 to avoid the loss by checkmate? No. A player can only invoke the 50 move rule if the game is still being played. Checkmate ends the game. Once the checkmate is on the board ...
Brian Towers's user avatar
  • 98.3k
4 votes

The 50 moves game

An excellent question which I've no idea of the answer to. To illustrate the difficulties, however, here's a very cursory attempt which only manages to get to 81 half moves. [FEN ""] 1. d3 ...
John Chernoff's user avatar
2 votes

Can Loss by Checkmate be Avoided by Invoking the 50-Move Rule Immediately After the 100th Half-Move?

I’ve grappled with this point before, trying to understand how the FIDE Laws (which are the basis of chess problems) should work. Essentially the Laws might have been split cleanly into rules of play ...
Laska's user avatar
  • 12.1k

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible