Search type Search syntax
Tags [tag]
Exact "words here"
Author user:1234
user:me (yours)
Score score:3 (3+)
score:0 (none)
Answers answers:3 (3+)
answers:0 (none)
isaccepted:yes
hasaccepted:no
inquestion:1234
Views views:250
Sections title:apples
body:"apples oranges"
URL url:"*.example.com"
Favorites infavorites:mine
infavorites:1234
Status closed:yes
duplicate:no
migrated:no
wiki:no
Types is:question
is:answer
Exclude -[tag]
-apples
For more details on advanced search visit our help page
Results tagged with Search options answers only user 924

Questions relating to the rules of chess

3
votes
No, because of the basic rule that says you can't put or leave yourself in check. From the FIDE Laws of Chess: 3.9.2 No piece can be moved that will either expose the king of the same colour to ch …
answered Aug 30 '18 by RemcoGerlich
6
votes
going into check at all times. There are no rules saying you can't take any more of your opponent's pieces. …
answered Dec 13 '13 by RemcoGerlich
11
votes
concentrated for the players, especially the innocent player), but the arbiter can't just invent rules. If this happens regularly (the player is doing this on purpose), there is always article 12.8 …
answered Nov 6 '13 by RemcoGerlich
11
votes
I feel this is legal. I'm using FIDE rules. This is the rule that describes what happens with a capture: 3.1.1 If a piece moves to a square occupied by an opponent’s piece the latter is captured … already rules against distracting the opponent, there is also the umbrella rule against "bringing the game of chess into disrepute", and when you want to promote but don't immediately spot the piece …
answered Aug 31 '18 by RemcoGerlich
14
votes
No. Notes could help you during the game, and therefore they aren't allowed. The Laws of Chess say: 12.3.a During play the players are forbidden to make use of any notes, sources of information or …
answered Mar 30 '14 by RemcoGerlich
3
votes
I'm using the rules of january 2018. There are many ambiguities left, and recently more have been introduced mostly by calling some things an "illegal move" that weren't considered illegal moves … , that's always been fine and allowed by the rules (mostly because of increments, it's important that the opponent still presses the clock, and then you press it). So say player A castles using two …
answered Apr 6 '18 by RemcoGerlich
3
votes
I think you are confusing check and checkmate. Check is the situation where a king is under attack from another piece. Checkmate is where that is the case, the king's side has the move, but there is n …
answered Mar 11 '19 by RemcoGerlich
23
votes
Sometimes, choosing a bishop or a rook is the best move, because of stalemate possibilities. This happens most often with rooks, and very rarely with bishops. For instance, in this famous position fr …
answered Jan 6 '16 by RemcoGerlich
7
votes
you actually won because checkmate ends the game immediately. Yes that happens, mostly in youth tournaments. (Edit: that's FIDE rules. This sort of thing may well be different under USCF rules, I don't … know). There is nothing about the exact procedure in the rules, probably because resigning ends the game and usually makes the opponent happy regardless, so there's never been a need to regulate it …
answered Jan 6 '14 by RemcoGerlich
6
votes
No, you don't have to. In rule 8.1 of the Laws of Chess, it says: A player may reply to his opponent’s move before recording it, if he so wishes. He must record his previous move before making ano …
answered Mar 30 '14 by RemcoGerlich
21
votes
It means Tournament Performance Rating. Very roughly a TPR of 2551 means that the results this player has achieved in this tournament would have been expected of a player rated 2551. That's always a …
answered Jan 29 '19 by RemcoGerlich
7
votes
She can claim a draw. Article 9.3 of the FIDE Laws of Chess, 2018, emphasis mine: 9.3 The game is drawn, upon a correct claim by a player having the move, if: 9.3.1 he writes his move, which …
answered Aug 26 '19 by RemcoGerlich
5
votes
It is illegal to play a move that results in your king being on an attacked square, or, as the official rules put it, emphasis mine: The king is said to be 'in check' if it is attacked by one or …
answered Jan 5 '15 by RemcoGerlich
9
votes
The rules do not mention a flipped rook, nor is there any rule that says a move can be illegal due to how the piece is placed on the square. It's a legal move. That said, it's just a rook. The …
answered Sep 6 '17 by RemcoGerlich
6
votes
applicable", or so. Let's quote the Preface as well, my favourite part of the rules: The Laws of Chess cannot cover all possible situations that may arise during a game, nor can they regulate all … the spirit of the laws to do interpret the rules like that here (with the queen on the board, arguing for a win based on a move other than ...a1=Q is unreasonable in my opinion). The alternative would …
answered Jun 13 '18 by RemcoGerlich

15 30 50 per page