Search type Search syntax
Tags [tag]
Exact "words here"
Author user:1234
user:me (yours)
Score score:3 (3+)
score:0 (none)
Answers answers:3 (3+)
answers:0 (none)
isaccepted:yes
hasaccepted:no
inquestion:1234
Views views:250
Sections title:apples
body:"apples oranges"
URL url:"*.example.com"
Favorites infavorites:mine
infavorites:1234
Status closed:yes
duplicate:no
migrated:no
wiki:no
Types is:question
is:answer
Exclude -[tag]
-apples
For more details on advanced search visit our help page
Results tagged with Search options user 15989

Questions relating to the rules of chess

18
votes
The FIDE Laws of Chess 2018 are unambiguous: you should write Nce4, and the + sign is optional and not disambiguating. Ne4+ is not sufficient. Appendix C (algebraic notation), article C.10 basically …
answered Sep 12 '19 by Remellion
6
votes
It means that in the pairings given in the tables, if there are an odd number of players (so not an 8-person round-robin for instance), the player playing against the highest number receives a bye. F …
answered May 24 '19 by Remellion
8
votes
reading of the rules, the position after 4...Ng8 has appeared only for the second time. The relevant clauses are 9.2: [...] Positions are considered the same if and only if the same player has the …
answered Dec 9 '18 by Remellion
7
votes
What you're asking goes by the name of "Dead Reckoning" in the domain of problems and retro problems. (1) There isn't an algorithm I know of except the one mentioned by zaifrun: brute force. The reas …
answered Jun 29 '18 by Remellion
13
votes
5answers
time control tournament game under FIDE rules the endgame is reached. Black tries to make a move to reach the following position, but the flag falls before he manages to press his clock. 8/8/8/8/k7 … no less: White pressed her clock after moving, completing her last move. Black placed the queen on a1 and released it. Black's flag falls and white calls it. The arbiter rules that white wins …
asked Jun 13 '18 by Remellion
6
votes
1answer
under FIDE rules (2018). Can a win be claimed after the second completed illegal move completed by one side, if neither player nor the arbiter intervened upon the completion of the first? Assume the …
asked Jan 3 '19 by Remellion
6
votes
4answers
Note: this is another rules-lawyering question. I first ask for an official source I am calling into question the phrasing of the rules. Then I consider a few plausibly official sources, and point … out a loophole (unsurprisingly not the first time castling has come under fire) - is my reading correct? Preamble: Is there an official source for the rules on Chess960 castling? Common knowledge at …
asked Dec 30 '19 by Remellion
5
votes
according to the FIDE rules, since FEN always records down a pawn moving two squares, regardless of whether an en passant capture is possible or not. Hence a direct PGN comparison would yield a wrong conclusion in the two scenarios you described. …
answered Nov 17 '18 by Remellion
12
votes
This answer will focus on chess as it is played, rather than subdomains like composition or engine development. Castling is a move that usually accomplishes at least one of two things: It gets the …
answered Dec 2 '19 by Remellion
6
votes
Computer detection of dead positions is much trickier than people think. It is unlikely that an algorithm exists that runs in reasonable time and is 100% accurate. It is easy to check for a simple co …
answered Oct 29 '18 by Remellion