Skip to main content

Questions tagged [touch-move]

Use this tag for questions about the touch-move rule in competitive chess.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
8 votes
1 answer

Touch move rule loophole

When I touch two pieces simultaneously, how will the touch move rule apply? How is this rule used for this situation? I could not find any resources to do with this situation.
user avatar
5 votes
1 answer

Touch move and capture sequence

When considering the touch move rule, I am still unclear about the legal sequence for a capture. Example, White intends to capture a rook on a8 with a rook on a1 (open file). Does White have to touch ...
theBIOguy's user avatar
12 votes
2 answers

If I accidentally knock over a rook with my elbow while reaching for another piece, do I have to move the rook?

According to the official FIDE rules for over-the-board (OTB) games, does the above description warrant the touch move rule?
CognisMantis's user avatar
  • 5,081