A message from our CEO about the future of Stack Overflow and Stack Exchange. Read now.

Questions tagged [rules]

Questions relating to the rules of chess

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
4
votes
2answers
242 views

Why is this a threefold repetition draw?

I'm relatively new, so sorry if this is obvious. Recently played a game on my phone chess app where the option popped up that I could claim a threefold repetition draw. I hadn't known about this rule. ...
-1
votes
1answer
179 views

Initial position with board “reflected”

The rule says that the a1 (and consequently the h8) square must be black, in other words, the leftmost square of the first row of each player must be black. With this the kings stay at the right side ...
-1
votes
3answers
314 views

It is possible to mate enemy king if this would put your king in check? [duplicate]

When thinking about if you can do some move, you look if your king will be attacked. This would lead to a recursion, but actually dont, since you it doenst matter if this enemy piece would be able to ...
7
votes
1answer
633 views

No writing down moves in advance of making, or in advance of completing

Per FIDE rules, I must not write down moves "in advance". Does this mean: in advance of making, or in advance of completing? Today I have seen a strange ruling as a spectator. A young player made a ...
4
votes
3answers
862 views

Pawn promotion to queen of the other color

A Black pawn reached the end of board and Black himself picked it up and placed a White queen on the board. He removed his hand from the piece. I am not concerned with 'the spirit of the game' but ...
3
votes
7answers
2k views

Is it true that at any time only one piece can put king in check?

I am writing a simple chess game in which I have to determine the end game conditions. My algorithm requires the piece that is putting the opponent king in check, and checks the following: King ...
8
votes
1answer
3k views

Is it illegal to write clock time in the score sheet during tournaments?

I have the habit of noting the clock time near my moves in tournament. I've been doing this for years now, but today a friend told me it is illegal according to FIDE. I wonderwhat the regulation ...
2
votes
0answers
71 views

Can a player play on more than one team in the USATE? [closed]

Can a Chess Player play on more than one team either as a regular player or as an "alternate" in the USATE 2016?
3
votes
5answers
574 views

Castling, is it necessary to take it?

I've got a simple question, that I'm having difficulty finding an answer for... If it is possible to castle (I know the conditions for it), and I decide to move the king to the square where it would ...
2
votes
3answers
778 views

Automatic draw rules

In developing a computer chess program, would it be reasonable to automatically declare a draw match for these two scenarios: A. Player 1 has a king and a knight, player 2 has only a king left. B. ...
-1
votes
2answers
443 views

Discovered check when winning [duplicate]

Is it ok to put your own king in discovered check as you take the other king? (Does the taking of the other king even count as a move, or is the checkmate the last move?) Edit: When thinking about it,...
7
votes
4answers
1k views

Outcome of a game in case of an illegal checkmate

Suppose that, in an amateur rapid play tournament (where supervision is inappropriate), the following position appears: [fen "5K2/8/1q6/1N1k4/8/8/8/2R1R3 w - - 1 1"] 1. Re5+? Qc5+? {illegal} 2. Rxc5#...
7
votes
4answers
1k views

Why doesn't Promotion restrict choices to Queen and Knight only?

Queen, in a sense, is equivalent to Bishop and Rook. What is the logic behind "putting Rook and Bishop" in the promotion move's options? Why doesn't it (Promotion move) provide the choice between ...
1
vote
1answer
262 views

Question on promoting pawns to queens

If you have two queens (original and one promoted) on board and the original queen is captured....can you promote your next pawn at the eight rank to queen again?
2
votes
1answer
714 views

Is Pawn Promotion obligatory?

Acc. to Wikipedia, When a pawn advances to the eighth rank, as a part of the move it is promoted..." This doesn'clear whether I am obliged to make this move if I am at eighth rank or it's over me?
1
vote
2answers
4k views

How often can I castle? [duplicate]

I am learning to play chess on my computer. I have learned approximately all the rules but one rule stays vague for me thus far. My questions are clear, though. I am putting them separated below ...
2
votes
3answers
338 views

Why is the definition of check not circular?

If you want to determine whether a player is in check I think you would: 1.1) determine every legal move of the opposition; 1.2.) determine whether such a move threatens our king (i.e. could 'take' ...
23
votes
1answer
8k views

When en passant is the only legal move

Consider the following position: 8/7p/5K1k/8/7p/7P/5PP1/8 w - - 0 1 1. g4 hxg3 White plays g2-g4. The only legal move is hxg3. I heard someone say that since the en passant capture is optional, ...
2
votes
2answers
814 views

A piece was knocked down during a blitz game

I was playing a blitz game which was not part of a tournament or something but there was some bets, which were not significant at all, just to add some more spice to the game. However at some point I ...
0
votes
2answers
209 views

When is the right time to offer a draw according to the FIDE OTB rules

Is there any FIDE rule to say when is the right time to offer a draw? To be more clear, shall I offer a draw when my clock is going or I should offer if my opponent's clock is running? In this ...
1
vote
2answers
574 views

Drawing rules for time loss

Let's say we have a few situations. White has all their pieces (hypothetically) and black has only: N+K B+K N+N+K If white were to run out of time, would each of these situations be a draw due to ...
0
votes
3answers
165 views

Timer expired suggestions

I am developing a computer based game. I am aware some of different official timer expiration rules. But I want to make the following simple rule when the timer expired. After player one has made a ...
2
votes
2answers
958 views

How to deal with people getting help on board

We all had this situation where our opponent have this fide master friend and just happen to stand next to him, whisper him things while pointing your chessboard. I've never had the guts to call it ...
4
votes
2answers
552 views

Mate vs timeout

I've read about the "mate prevail thing" here : Mate Prevails - Chess Rule but I couldn't get a clear view on one odd point. I get that the mate move prevail, but if you couldn't do it before the ...
2
votes
1answer
367 views

What would happen if I touch two different pieces with each hand at same time?

For example, I touch my king with the left hand and my queen with the right hand at the same time. Regarding the rules, I must move a touched piece, so what would happen in this case? Could I choose ...
9
votes
1answer
4k views

How to castle two times in a game

A simple question: Assuming that I'm playing as White, how can I castle twice in a game? I've asked myself this question after seeing the following game from Tim Krabbe's chess records "Greatest ...
5
votes
1answer
596 views

Castling rule clarification

A quote from Wikipedia for castling rule: the squares between the king and the rook involved are unoccupied What if the squares are not occupied at this instance but an opponent piece was there ...
3
votes
4answers
2k views

What happens if a player mistakenly thinks they have been checkmated?

A quote from Wikipedia: The objective is to 'checkmate' the opponent's king by placing it under an inescapable threat of capture. Suppose two players (A and B) play the game using the old ...
1
vote
1answer
232 views

Extra time, how much? - Pull the clock of an opponent

Today at the local tournament I noticed this. It was my turn - my opponents clock was running. It turned out to be this way. My opponent had pulled the time control of his neighbor, accidently. We ...
5
votes
3answers
3k views

Can you capture a pawn en passant with a king?

Friend right now is trying to en passant me with a king. I'm saying that its not legal. He won't believe me. He is saying that any opposing piece can capture the en passant pawn.
3
votes
1answer
636 views

The 50 Move Rule

Can the fifty move counter be increased after white's move? I thought that it could only be increased if both white and then black had not moved a pawn nor captured a piece that qualified for a whole ...
2
votes
2answers
641 views

Confusion about Touch and move rule

I accidentally touched my bishop and opponent's "Knight", while reaching for my queen during a game, almost simultaneously. Am I forced to take the opponent's piece?
16
votes
3answers
4k views

What are the possible results of a game?

What is the range of possible results of a chess game? I am asking this question, because I am developing an XML schema for recording chess games; sort of like an XML version of PGN, and I need a way ...
4
votes
4answers
151 views

Why are ratings calculated by tournament instead of by game?

When you go to a chess tournament, why is your rating calculated by your tournament performance instead of how most internet chess servers do it? Why don't they adjust the rating by game? What is the ...
4
votes
2answers
612 views

Both flags fallen: Draw?

Suppose both players have 0 seconds left on the clock, but the clock indicates that the flag of player B has fallen first, which is claimed by Player A. Player A has enough material to mate his ...
1
vote
2answers
334 views

Why can I not make an en passant capture?

Here is part of a Lichess game where I tried make to make an en passant capture-but it's impossible. The question is this-Why? I am new to chess. I searched for the chess of rules on Wikipedia, but ...
6
votes
2answers
8k views

Can I promote to a queen twice?

I am confused about pawn promotion. If I promote two different pawns, can I promote them both to a queen?
-1
votes
3answers
189 views

Draw, or discovered check

It's my move. All I have is a king. The opponent has a rook and a queen. I can't move without going into check. Is this a draw?
1
vote
2answers
250 views

Acknowledging a check mate

Do you have to tell someone that they set them selves up for a check mate? For example if the queen is guarding the king on both ends and one person moves there queen to the left. Does the opposite ...
6
votes
1answer
2k views

Why does the game end at checkmate and not upon taking the king? [duplicate]

Ever since I was a kid this has felt kind of odd to me. Victory in chess is achieved by "cornering" the king, and not by taking him outright, like what you do to all the other pieces. I always ...
9
votes
4answers
1k views

Can I resign if my opponent only has his King?

Well, obviously if my opponent has only a King, I cannot lose...either a win or a draw. Suppose I also have a Queen(Forced win). However suppose I want to lose (maybe I am winning and want to grant ...
4
votes
2answers
242 views

must chess pieces be within a square?

In lightning chess must pieces be moved so they are completely within a square? If not then how much overlap is allowed? If my opponent breaks this rule do I stop the clock and call the DOP?
6
votes
4answers
2k views

Moving a piece out of the way for check

I was recently told you may not move a piece out of the way of a second piece to allow the second piece to put the other player in check. For example, I have my queen and rook lined up on a diagonal ...
8
votes
2answers
732 views

Where exactly in the Fide handbook can you find the hand shaking rule?

So I was wondering where is it located, in the fide handbook, the rule that you have to shake hands with your opponent. I know it exists, especially since the Cheparinov-Short case some time ago, I ...
3
votes
2answers
7k views

Why isn't this threefold repetition, forcing a draw?

Here's my scenario, White has pawns on c2 and a2, and a king on c1, while Black has a queen on b4 and a king on d1. [FEN "4k3/8/8/8/1q6/8/P1P5/2K5 b - - 0 1 "] 1...Qe1+ 2.Kb2 Qb4+ 3.Ka1 Qe1+ 4.Kb2 ...
3
votes
1answer
117 views

How can I play?

Can someone please just tell me how all of the pieces move? I always get the castles and the priests mixed up, but I know one of them makes an "L" or a backwards "L". Thank you for your underatanding.
6
votes
1answer
1k views

Clarification on changed rules of getting rating from FIDE

As of July 2014 FIDE states 7.14c The condition of a minimum of 5 games need not be met in one tournament. Results from other tournaments played within consecutive rating periods totalling not more ...
15
votes
1answer
1k views

What should an arbiter do if a player has illegally stopped notating?

Situation: a standard game, 1 hour 40 minutes for the game with 10 seconds increment per move. FIDE rules. White has two minutes left and has stopped writing down his moves, as he is allowed to ...
6
votes
2answers
873 views

Why is taking notes that encourage oneself illegal in chess?

In Round 9 in the US Chess Championship 2015 Men, Wesley So (2794) was forfeited by the arbiter in his game against Akobian (2622) since So took notes that were not chess-related but contained "...
4
votes
1answer
170 views

When a pawn promotes, does the new piece go to the promotion square, or the home square of piece type it promoted to?

When a pawn promotes, does the new piece go to the promotion square, or the home square of piece type it promoted to? In other words, if a pawn promotes to a queen, does the queen go back to the ...