Questions tagged [rules]

Questions relating to the rules of chess

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
0
votes
1answer
113 views

Is the notion of an en passant redundant? [duplicate]

The en passant move can be utilised when a pawn is offered the option of being able to capture an adjacent file’s pawn, which has advanced two ranks. However, surely the game of chess would be fine ...
1
vote
1answer
155 views

If you fail to move the king out of check (for any reason) what is the status of the game? [duplicate]

I will start by saying I am new at chess. The scenario is as follows. In a particular game you are in check, but fail to move out of check because you and your opponent did not realize this. Since ...
6
votes
5answers
511 views

When exactly does a checkmate or stalemate take effect?

I'm not enthusiastic about chess in particular, so if I use terminology incorrectly please correct me. I use "phase 1 & phase 2" for each player's move, and "turn n" for each pair of phases. I'm ...
7
votes
4answers
427 views

Threefold repetition in view of castling rights

In view of castling rights, an aspiring rules lawyer could ask: when does threefold repetition support a draw claim? Technical example: [fen ""] [title "Illustration of castling rights"] [startply "...
9
votes
1answer
662 views

Touching a captured queen — must I promote to it?

Playing a friendly game against my son (but with Touch-and-Move in force), I was going to promote a pawn to a queen, so I fished out my queen from among the captured pieces, and placed it on the ...
11
votes
2answers
1k views

Touch-move when move is illegal but opponent's piece can be captured by another piece

This is the scenario: I pick up my Knight to capture my opponent's Bishop (touching the Bishop). I then realise my Knight was pinned to my King in the first place, so moving it would be illegal. ...
21
votes
1answer
8k views

Is there a specific penalty for intentionally damaging chess pieces or the board?

If a player intentionally damages a chess set (e.g. breaks a piece in two, cracks the board, etc.), is there a specific penalty under FIDE rules? I'm not talking about moving pieces around ...
22
votes
3answers
6k views

Is it legal to play a move without hitting the clock?

In the game Andrey Esipenko - Nihal Sarin (2018 World Blitz Championship), after 7. Qb3 c4 8. Qc2 Sarin plays 8... Bf5, and before he hits the clock, Esipenko plays 9. Qc1, but since Nihal has not ...
13
votes
2answers
2k views

Is it allowed to talk to your opponent in a tournament game?

Suppose my opponent in a tournament was running very low on time, and after move 40, presses the clock and leaves the board for a while, falsely believing they will get extra time on their clock. ...
0
votes
1answer
112 views

Confusing question about the “Pawn” [duplicate]

I enjoy playing chess and thought that I knew all of the "rules"??? However, I just found out now something interesting, though very confused regarding what exactly the "Pawn" is able to perform??? ...
8
votes
3answers
335 views

Punishing player for indicating moves to other team players

I am arbiter myself, but I don't know how to treat player in team matches who try to indicate other players of their team what move to play in position they are in. If they won their game I might ...
18
votes
2answers
3k views

What does “TPR” mean in chess tournament reports?

I usually find in reports like this (and many others) something like: ... with a TPR of 2551 ... I would like to know its meaning, and also what it stands for.
2
votes
1answer
301 views

Can you claim a draw, after the position has changed, if threefold repetition occurred earlier?

I understand that when the same board position occurs three times in a game, with the same player to move, and having all the same possible moves, the game may be claimed as a draw by threefold ...
1
vote
2answers
179 views

In what way is it allowed to alter tournament pairings in favor of a player?

The FIDE Rules for Swiss Systems state: C.04.2 A It is not allowed to alter the correct pairings in favour of any player. and then further state: Where it can be shown that modifications of ...
2
votes
3answers
393 views

How to notify check when a player leaves himself in check

I'm learning to play chess. Twice we had a situation where the white player moved a piece that was blocking the black Queen from checking the white King. There was no move available to announce "...
4
votes
1answer
219 views

Can a tournament director nullify a game in progress?

Recently I was at a USCF tournament. Six moves into my first round game, the tournament director came to my board and had me stop my clock. It turned out that the person across from me had the wrong ...
6
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a win be claimed on the second illegal move if the first wasn't raised?

First of all, I don't think this is a duplicate of what happens on the first illegal move in a game. This is what happens after the second if the first is unclaimed. The setting is a tournament under ...
6
votes
1answer
638 views

Draw offer without executing move

Scenario: It's Player A's move, and without executing a move he offers a draw. Player B replies "Please make a move". Player A then makes a move, where upon player B says: "Ok, I accept". Is it now ...
0
votes
2answers
157 views

Why queen traps happen so frequently? [closed]

I am aware that in most chess games the king is the one to be checkmated. Yet when playing many online chess games I have found the queen is the the one being checkmated. Is this simply another ...
1
vote
2answers
208 views

In a tournament game, what should a player do if he find that his opponent's position is impossible, which was caused by an earlier illegal move? [duplicate]

For example, if a player realises that his opponent has two bishops of the same colour after a certain legal move (and assuming that it is clearly not caused by any pawn promotion), which implies that ...
4
votes
1answer
133 views

Tablebases for variant where stalemate is a win?

Since time immemorial, some people have suggested that stalemate be declared a loss for the player who is unable to move. This proposal is sometimes called "abolishing the stalemate rule" although I ...
5
votes
2answers
508 views

Rules: Is this position a draw?

Is this position a draw? [FEN ""] 1. Nf3 Nf6 2. Ng1 Ng8 3. Nf3 Nf6 4. Ng1 Ng8 I don't mean to ask the age-old question "Is chess a draw?"; four moves have been played here, returning to the starting ...
1
vote
2answers
465 views

Why isn't the objective of chess to capture the opponent's king? [duplicate]

The objective of chess is to put the opponent's king in a position where it cannot evade capture. Why not go all the way? Short of tremendous blunders of moving into check, chess would be completely ...
1
vote
4answers
545 views

Blitz Touch Move Rule

In a "friendly" blitz game I got into an argument with my opponent in the following scenario: My opponent's knight was pinned to his king. He did not notice and touched his knight to move it. I ...
5
votes
0answers
190 views

FIDE threefold repetition and possible moves [closed]

FIDE rules section 9.2 says: Positions are considered the same if and only if the same player has the move, pieces of the same kind and colour occupy the same squares and the possible moves of ...
1
vote
0answers
30 views

A piece preventing white king from occupying a square can't move for uncovering check on black king can the first king occupy said square anyway? [duplicate]

For instance Black king is on g8 black light coloured bishop is on g6 white queen is on g5 black rook on d6 and black pawn on c3 are checking White king on d2 white king captures black pawn on c3 ...
5
votes
1answer
207 views

Wrongly accepted stalemate but game is a clear win?

What will happen when we wrongly accepted stalemate and thereafter 02-03 seconds we noticed it was not a stalemate but a clear win?
8
votes
6answers
892 views

Rules: How does right to castle and en passant get considered for the purpose of calculating a threefold repetition?

I'm writing a chess app, and have some questions regarding the intricacies of the threefold repetition rules. As of 2018, the FIDE handbook has this to say about what constitutes identical positions ...
16
votes
1answer
3k views

When does a chess clock start?

Lichess.org starts the clock of each player after their first move. Chess.com starts the clock when the players agree to a match, before their first move. I think Lichess is correct, that's what we ...
11
votes
1answer
2k views

Why is it allowed to request an increment in time trouble?

From the FIDE Handbook: III.2.2 These Guidelines shall apply only to standard chess and rapid chess games without increment and not to blitz games. III.4 If the player having the move has less than ...
3
votes
2answers
432 views

In the case of en passant, should I move my pawn first or remove my opponent's one?

I know that, according to chess rules, every move should be made with a single hand. However, this does not clarify if, when making an en passant capture, I should move my pawn first or remove the ...
4
votes
1answer
205 views

Should any information written on the scoresheet by the players be accurate?

The FIDE rules state: 12.4 The scoresheet shall be used only for recording the moves, the times of the clocks, the offers of a draw, and matters relating to a claim and other relevant data. I ...
3
votes
1answer
346 views

What happens if a player makes an illegal move and nobody notices?

What happens if a player makes an illegal move (i.e. a realistic case could be, he castles after he already moved the King), but none of the player notices, and the game goes on and on for a lot of ...
9
votes
3answers
573 views

Why does not castling reset 50 moves rule?

Capturing a piece or moving a pawn irreversibly changes the state of the game and thus resets the counter for 50 Moves Rule. Since castling and first rook move irreversible changes state of the game ...
12
votes
1answer
7k views

If I touch a piece with my forearm by accident, can my opponent call touch-move? [duplicate]

If I touch a piece with my forearm by accident, can my opponent call touch-move? If the answer is "no", what if after my opponent calls touch-move, I believe him and move the touch piece before ...
7
votes
4answers
612 views

Is this considered checkmate if I touch a piece which can't make a legal move?

What if there's a touch move rule, and my knight or bishop is blocking my king, and I touch it. Is that a checkmate? If not, what is it called?
8
votes
3answers
770 views

Is dead position problem solvable?

In chess, there are some dead positions (FIDE Laws of Chess). 5.2.2 The game is drawn when a position has arisen in which neither player can checkmate the opponent’s king with any series of legal ...
3
votes
2answers
340 views

chess24 castling rules

Can someone explain to me, why on chess24.com white cannot castle in the situation in the picture? King never moved, neither did either of the rooks. When the queen was moved to d2 castling was not ...
1
vote
1answer
80 views

Should a player use the provided carbon copy sheet to record moves in a club/tournament? [duplicate]

I've been told some times that I must record my moves in the carbon copy sheet provided by the organizer instead of using my own chess notebooks. Is there any rule preventing me from using my own ...
1
vote
3answers
635 views

What happens if I push a pawn to the 8th rank and press the clock before promoting? [duplicate]

What happens if I push a pawn to the 8th rank and press the clock before converting it to another piece? Does it make a difference if it's Blitz or not?
4
votes
3answers
163 views

Multi (N>3) dimensional chess designs

I was wondering whether anyone has ever designed chess rules for more than 3 dimensions. At that point you wouldn't be able to visualize the play using one board. And you'd instead need to to use 8 3-...
6
votes
3answers
250 views

What are the downsides of fast tie-breaks after drawn games?

It is well known that a lot of games in the top level round-robin tournaments end in draws, often not very exciting ones. Many consider that detrimental, as it leads to spectators and sponsors losing ...
-2
votes
2answers
161 views

Theoretical new rating system (dissuading GMs from resigning) [closed]

Very rarely do grandmasters let themselves get checkmated. And to a certain extent I totally can understand that; grand masters can see the writing on the wall and they know when they are going to ...
17
votes
3answers
1k views

Is it legal to hit the clock with piece, captured or otherwise?

I have often seen in blitz games that when a player captures a piece and then hits the clock with the piece. Is that a legal move or is the player required to place it on the table and hit the clock ...
-1
votes
3answers
432 views

Is it legal for a move to put both sides in check? [duplicate]

My move resulted in us both being in check. Is this legal?
1
vote
1answer
240 views

Time ran out against bare king

If player A, who has a bare king, plays against player B who has around 9 pieces left on the board, and player B timer runs out (let's say player A's timer has 3 seconds remaining), who wins the match?...
2
votes
1answer
183 views

Simultaneous exhibition rules

There are the FIDE Rules for Chess. This for different types of chess. Are there also official rules for Simultaneous exhibition chess? Where can I find them?
2
votes
2answers
315 views

Score sheet booklet

Is it allowed to use a score sheet booklet for notations (with recording of previous games), as opposed to a single "stand alone" sheet? Reason for not allowing this may of course be due to ...
5
votes
2answers
507 views

Can I move a piece protecting the king if it keeps protecting on its new location?

Situation: there's a piece between the king and an opponent’s piece. If this piece were not there, it would be a check. If I were to try and move the protecting piece somewhere and leave the king ...
80
votes
9answers
39k views

Why is it illegal to castle with both hands?

I was watching the match between Ian Nepomniachtchi vs Hikaru Nakamura and Nakamura used both hands to castle. Why is it illegal to castle using both hands? What's wrong with that?

1 2
3
4 5
9