Stack Exchange Network

Stack Exchange network consists of 175 Q&A communities including Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.

Visit Stack Exchange

Questions tagged [rules]

Questions relating to the rules of chess

19
votes
3answers
3k views

Should you let your opponent know if they have forgotten to press their clock?

I'm in two minds here. The good sportsman says you should always let your opponent know (maybe limited to once per game). The more hard-nosed part of me says that managing the clock is part of the ...
21
votes
3answers
6k views

Is it legal to play a move without hitting the clock?

In the game Andrey Esipenko - Nihal Sarin (2018 World Blitz Championship), after 7. Qb3 c4 8. Qc2 Sarin plays 8... Bf5, and before he hits the clock, Esipenko plays 9. Qc1, but since Nihal has not ...
20
votes
1answer
7k views

Is there a specific penalty for intentionally damaging chess pieces or the board?

If a player intentionally damages a chess set (e.g. breaks a piece in two, cracks the board, etc.), is there a specific penalty under FIDE rules? I'm not talking about moving pieces around ...
12
votes
2answers
1k views

Is it allowed to talk to your opponent in a tournament game?

Suppose my opponent in a tournament was running very low on time, and after move 40, presses the clock and leaves the board for a while, falsely believing they will get extra time on their clock. ...
4
votes
5answers
2k views

Do the rules of blitz chess allow a draw to be claimed if the position is dead drawn?

Consider this objectively drawn position that occurred in the Fischer vs Spassky 1972 match, game 12. Suppose this position occurred in a blitz game where Black barely has few seconds remaining on his ...
-1
votes
1answer
60 views

Confusing question about the “Pawn” [duplicate]

I enjoy playing chess and thought that I knew all of the "rules"??? However, I just found out now something interesting, though very confused regarding what exactly the "Pawn" is able to perform??? ...
2
votes
3answers
263 views

How to notify check when a player leaves himself in check

I'm learning to play chess. Twice we had a situation where the white player moved a piece that was blocking the black Queen from checking the white King. There was no move available to announce "...
7
votes
3answers
227 views

Punishing player for indicating moves to other team players

I am arbiter myself, but I don't know how to treat player in team matches who try to indicate other players of their team what move to play in position they are in. If they won their game I might ...
3
votes
1answer
132 views

Can a tournament director nullify a game in progress?

Recently I was at a USCF tournament. Six moves into my first round game, the tournament director came to my board and had me stop my clock. It turned out that the person across from me had the wrong ...
-1
votes
0answers
63 views

Where does the myth of the '16 moves else stalemate' rule come from? [duplicate]

As a child, I grew up being taught that, in the event any player has only a king left, checkmate must occur in sixteen moves, otherwise the game results in a stalemate. I am far from the only one ...
17
votes
2answers
3k views

What does “TPR” mean in chess tournament reports?

I usually find in reports like this (and many others) something like: ... with a TPR of 2551 ... I would like to know its meaning, and also what it stands for.
2
votes
1answer
131 views

Can you claim a draw, after the position has changed, if threefold repetition occurred earlier?

I understand that when the same board position occurs three times in a game, with the same player to move, and having all the same possible moves, the game may be claimed as a draw by threefold ...
0
votes
1answer
73 views

In what way is it allowed to alter tournament pairings in favor of a player?

The FIDE Rules for Swiss Systems state: C.04.2 A It is not allowed to alter the correct pairings in favour of any player. and then further state: Where it can be shown that modifications of ...
4
votes
3answers
123 views

Multi (N>3) dimensional chess designs

I was wondering whether anyone has ever designed chess rules for more than 3 dimensions. At that point you wouldn't be able to visualize the play using one board. And you'd instead need to to use 8 3-...
42
votes
2answers
7k views

When (if ever) was it a rule that pawn promotion was optional?

I'm reading a very old chess book ("The Chess Pocket Manual" by G.H.D. Gossip, copyright 1894), and I find this passage in it's section on "The Laws of Chess": When a Pawn has reached the eighth ...
7
votes
7answers
618 views

What rule changes are proposed to minimize the incentive to draw a game?

Many world champion games are drawn, and people in the general public think that is disappointing. Not to debate that opinion here, but the question seems to be out there. So what would a rule change ...
9
votes
2answers
231 views

Does the chick promotion rule in dobutsu shogi really matter?

In dobutsu shogi, the chick (Japanese pawn) promotes to a chicken (Gold general). In my experience this promotion occurs only rarely and I suspect after much blundering. Does the chick promotion rule ...
1
vote
4answers
3k views

How do I determine who has white or black?

I have used e.g. the game of paper, stone and scissors. Is there another method which determines who has white or black? If so, what is the method?
5
votes
1answer
118 views

Can a win be claimed on the second illegal move if the first wasn't raised?

First of all, I don't think this is a duplicate of what happens on the first illegal move in a game. This is what happens after the second if the first is unclaimed. The setting is a tournament under ...
6
votes
1answer
570 views

Draw offer without executing move

Scenario: It's Player A's move, and without executing a move he offers a draw. Player B replies "Please make a move". Player A then makes a move, where upon player B says: "Ok, I accept". Is it now ...
0
votes
2answers
133 views

Why queen traps happen so frequently? [closed]

I am aware that in most chess games the king is the one to be checkmated. Yet when playing many online chess games I have found the queen is the the one being checkmated. Is this simply another ...
1
vote
2answers
118 views

In a tournament game, what should a player do if he find that his opponent's position is impossible, which was caused by an earlier illegal move? [duplicate]

For example, if a player realises that his opponent has two bishops of the same colour after a certain legal move (and assuming that it is clearly not caused by any pawn promotion), which implies that ...
14
votes
5answers
79k views

Is it possible to checkmate with knight and king against king?

I would like to clarify two things: Is it possible to checkmate with only a knight and a king against a lone king? What will happen when one side has a king and knight and the other has just a king, ...
1
vote
1answer
71 views

Tablebases for variant where stalemate is a win?

Since time immemorial, some people have suggested that stalemate be declared a loss for the player who is unable to move. This proposal is sometimes called "abolishing the stalemate rule" although I ...
1
vote
1answer
168 views

Rules: Is this position a draw?

Is this position a draw? [fen ""] 1. Nf3 Nf6 2. Ng1 Ng8 3. Nf3 Nf6 4. Ng1 Ng8 I don't mean to ask the age-old question "is Chess a draw?"; four moves have been played here, returning to the starting ...
8
votes
4answers
1k views

Can I resign if my opponent only has his King?

Well, obviously if my opponent has only a King, I cannot lose...either a win or a draw. Suppose I also have a Queen(Forced win). However suppose I want to lose (maybe I am winning and want to grant ...
3
votes
1answer
83 views

FIDE threefold repetition and possible moves [closed]

FIDE rules section 9.2 says: Positions are considered the same if and only if the same player has the move, pieces of the same kind and colour occupy the same squares and the possible moves of ...
3
votes
5answers
383 views

Custom Chess (game) engine

Is there a chess engine which you can use regardless of the game's rules? For example I wanna create my own chess version in which queen will also be able to move as knight or just a 10x10-square ...
1
vote
2answers
146 views

Why isn't the objective of chess to capture the opponent's king? [duplicate]

The objective of chess is to put the opponent's king in a position where it cannot evade capture. Why not go all the way? Short of tremendous blunders of moving into check, chess would be completely ...
3
votes
3answers
2k views

Can you capture a pawn en passant with a king?

Friend right now is trying to en passant me with a king. I'm saying that its not legal. He won't believe me. He is saying that any opposing piece can capture the en passant pawn.
0
votes
4answers
148 views

Blitz Touch Move Rule

In a "friendly" blitz game I got into an argument with my opponent in the following scenario: My opponent's knight was pinned to his king. He did not notice and touched his knight to move it. I ...
15
votes
2answers
582 views

Is it legal to hit the clock with piece, captured or otherwise?

I have often seen in blitz games that when a player captures a piece and then hits the clock with the piece. Is that a legal move or is the player required to place it on the table and hit the clock ...
9
votes
2answers
5k views

Touching chess pieces in official matches

Is it a rule in official matches, that if I touch a piece I must play with that one? Sorry for my noobness; my friend said that I should move with the touched piece.
4
votes
4answers
205 views

Rules: How does right to castle and en-passant get considered for the purpose of calculating a threefold repetition

I'm writing a chess app, and have some questions regarding the intricacies of the threefold repetition rules. As of 2018, the FIDE handbook has this to say about what constitutes identical positions ...
1
vote
0answers
26 views

A piece preventing white king from occupying a square can't move for uncovering check on black king can the first king occupy said square anyway? [duplicate]

For instance Black king is on g8 black light coloured bishop is on g6 white queen is on g5 black rook on d6 and black pawn on c3 are checking White king on d2 white king captures black pawn on c3 ...
1
vote
1answer
109 views

wrongly accepted stalemate but game is a clear win?

What will happen when we wrongly accepted stalemate and thereafter 02-03 seconds we noticed it was not a stalemate but a clear win?
14
votes
1answer
3k views

When does a chess clock start?

Lichess.org starts the clock of each player after their first move. Chess.com starts the clock when the players agree to a match, before their first move. I think Lichess is correct, that's what we ...
14
votes
2answers
2k views

Elo loss for resign vs checkmate

Is there a difference in the amount of ELO a player loses from resigning versus being checkmated? If so - What is the difference in the calculation?
7
votes
3answers
857 views

Proof of irreversibility of 50 move rule

I recently edited the Wikipedia article 50 Move Rule as follows: The rationale for this rule is that pawn moves and captures are the only '''irreversible''' types of moves. That is, after ...
10
votes
1answer
2k views

Why is it allowed to request an increment in time trouble?

From the FIDE Handbook: III.2.2 These Guidelines shall apply only to standard chess and rapid chess games without increment and not to blitz games. III.4 If the player having the move has less ...
4
votes
3answers
356 views

Is dead position problem solvable?

In chess, there are some dead positions (FIDE Laws of Chess). Arbiter or players will terminate the game OTB, but is it possible to do computer solution for dead position detection? If it is, then how?...
3
votes
3answers
5k views

Do you get an extra turn when you promote your pawn?

If you promote a pawn do you get a second move to move it out of danger? Or do you still only get the promotion as your move and it becomes the opponents move?
5
votes
3answers
355 views

Is this considered checkmate or not

What if there's a touch move rule and my knight or bishop is blocking my king and I touch it is that a checkmate if so what is it called
4
votes
1answer
88 views

Should any information written on the scoresheet by the players be accurate?

The FIDE rules state: 12.4 The scoresheet shall be used only for recording the moves, the times of the clocks, the offers of a draw, and matters relating to a claim and other relevant data. I ...
8
votes
3answers
268 views

Why does not castling reset 50 moves rule?

Capturing a piece or moving a pawn irreversibly changes the state of the game and thus resets the counter for 50 Moves Rule. Since castling and first rook move irreversible changes state of the game ...
12
votes
1answer
7k views

If I touch a piece with my forearm by accident, can my opponent call touch-move? [duplicate]

If I touch a piece with my forearm by accident, can my opponent call touch-move? If the answer is "no", what if after my opponent calls touch-move, I believe him and move the touch piece before ...
21
votes
6answers
2k views

How should an arbiter handle copying moves from another game?

In 2004 the British illusionist, Derren Brown, despite being a very poor chess player scored +4 -3 =2 against 9 strong chess players including scoring 2/4 against 4 grandmasters in a simul. Of course ...
5
votes
1answer
346 views

Can you claim an illegal move in Blitz after pressing your clock (but without making a move)?

In Blitz under FIDE rules, Player A makes and completes an illegal move by pressing the clock. Player B states that Player A's move is illegal, does not make a move, but quickly presses his own clock, ...
8
votes
3answers
597 views

If on my turn I adjust a piece on its square without saying “J'adoube” or equivalent do I have to move it?

Suppose I nudge a piece back on to the center of its square using a light tap with the back of my little finger. Will this constitute touching the piece within the meaning of the FIDE touch-move rule?
15
votes
2answers
10k views

Do the official rules of chess forbid promoting a pawn to a piece of the opposite color?

Not that it would be everyone's first choice, but it is possible to concoct positions where having an extra piece block your opponent's moves and thus gives you an advantage (think blocking an escape ...