Questions tagged [pawn-promotion]

Questions related to techniques for promoting pawns, or the promotion itself.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
12
votes
1answer
872 views

What is the origin, or a early appearance, of this famous chess tale?

There is a story I have found across the Internet of an endgame between two players, usually named as Capablanca versus an extraterrestrial of some sort. According to the Spanish chess Wikipedia, the ...
8
votes
4answers
2k views

Understanding Carlsen's resignation in the rook and pawn endgame vs MVL

Why did Carlsen resign in the position shown below? (blitz game played in the London Chess Classic GCT Finals) Can't white help the pawn queen after Ke3 and Kd3 then Kd4? I must be missing something. ...
3
votes
1answer
774 views

Is pawn promotion obligatory?

According to Wikipedia, when a pawn advances to the eighth rank, the pawn is promoted as a part of the move. However, this doesn't make it clear whether I am obliged to promote the pawn if it gets to ...
6
votes
2answers
783 views

Famous pawn promotion matches

Except for a famous match between Tigran Petrosian and Bobby fischer, I don't know of any famous chess match between top notch players which had some climactic pawn promotions . Could anyone here ...
22
votes
2answers
4k views

Why underpromote in this KNNP-KR endgame?

In the position below, I'm promoting my pawn. The app says promoting to a Queen is incorrect, but a Rook is correct? In this setup it doesn't make sense. [FEN "8/1P6/3N4/8/8/3k4/r7/4KN2 w - - 0 1"] ...
3
votes
1answer
967 views

What is the minimum number of pieces needed in a chess set to account for all possible promoted pieces?

How many pieces would be needed in a chess set where all possibilities for promoted pieces are included if pawns are no longer used after they promote?
49
votes
2answers
9k views

When (if ever) was it a rule that pawn promotion was optional?

I'm reading a very old chess book ("The Chess Pocket Manual" by G.H.D. Gossip, copyright 1894), and I find this passage in it's section on "The Laws of Chess": When a Pawn has reached the eighth ...
18
votes
4answers
3k views

Is there any position where not promoting(illegally) would be the best move?

Is there any position, where moving a pawn to last rank but not promoting it to any piece would be the best move? By the way, I know this is an illegal move. Assume it is legal. Edit: Now we have a ...
4
votes
3answers
937 views

Pawn promotion to queen of the other color

A Black pawn reached the end of board and Black himself picked it up and placed a White queen on the board. He removed his hand from the piece. I am not concerned with 'the spirit of the game' but ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

Why does Lichess mark this move as “?!”?

I was looking at this game on Lichess, where it says "Checkmate is now unavoidable. Best move was Kc4." As far as I can tell, checkmate was already unavoidable, including after Kc4. Namely, Black can ...
8
votes
2answers
1k views

FIDE rules when opponent accidentally promotes to your Queen

This happened to someone else recently in a time scramble during an OTB game. His opponent promoted a pawn and placed a Queen of the wrong color on the board. He was corrected by the player and the ...
3
votes
2answers
1k views

Is castling possible with a pawn promoted to a rook?

I was thinking about some rules and I came up with a really nice question. Is it possible to castle with a pawn promoted to a rook? If the rules are followed-neither the king or the new rook has ...
8
votes
3answers
1k views

What is the most queens that have been on the board in a grandmaster game?

There are quite a few grandmaster games with 3 queens or 4 queens, but what is the highest number of queens on the board in a game between two GMs? I'd be interested in both the most on the board ...
1
vote
1answer
117 views

Games with two knight promotions in them

Games with two knight promotions are extremely rare, but a few have existed. In an article of his, Tim Krabbe stated that, about the game Zurakhov - Koblentz, "This is one in only 5 games with two ...
3
votes
3answers
2k views

Can there be two bishops on white tiles? If not, can my queen be capture and then promoted so I can win the game?

. Can there be two bishops on white squares? If not, can my queen be captured and then bepromoted so I can win the game? I don't know what to really do, because I ...
8
votes
3answers
459 views

How likely is it that a non-orthodox promotion is optimal?

Under promotion is an interesting aspect of chess, but there are other possibilities that aren't allowed under modern rules. One is the so-called "dummy pawn", as this question discusses: When (if ...
2
votes
4answers
510 views

Situations of underpromoting the pawn

I recently came across a wonderful article on Chess.com about under promotion of pawns. One of the situations is here: [FEN "8/8/1KP5/3r4/8/8/8/k7 w - - 0 1"] [Date "1895.??.??"] [White "Saavedra, ...
7
votes
1answer
655 views

Antichess pawn promotion

The rules of antichess specified in Wikipedia state that the rules of regular chess should be followed except Capturing is compulsory. When more than one capture is available, the player may choose....
4
votes
1answer
251 views

What is the maximum number of promoted pawns ever achieved in a competitive game?

In theory, a player could advance all eight of their pawns to the end of the board, promoting them all. In my own experience, games with more than two promotions on one side have been vanishingly rare,...
2
votes
1answer
112 views

List of numerous possible reasons to promote to a knight

While this asks for a reason/any reason in general, I wish to make a list of numerous posssible unique reasons. I already have an exhaustive list of my own. Are there any more possible reasons out ...
2
votes
1answer
72 views

Knight promotion percentages

Knight promotion is the second most common promotion. Most of the time it is to give an otherwise ungivable check. But it doesn’t always come with check. Statiscally speaking, what percentage of ...
12
votes
1answer
2k views

Why does Fritz prefer underpromotion in this position?

Why does Fritz prefer underpromotion in this position? How can underpromotion to bishop evaluate so much higher than normal queen promotion? Can this be a bug in the Fritz 14 chess engine?
4
votes
1answer
179 views

When a pawn promotes, does the new piece go to the promotion square, or the home square of piece type it promoted to?

When a pawn promotes, does the new piece go to the promotion square, or the home square of piece type it promoted to? In other words, if a pawn promotes to a queen, does the queen go back to the ...
8
votes
6answers
2k views

Pawn Promotion Endgame Problem-White to move and mate in 1

So I have not been this interested in chess for a very long time indeed. This problem was posed to me by someone who has recently become experienced in chess and also participated in a chess ...
4
votes
4answers
451 views

Can a pawn that performed an en passant capture promote at all?

So let's say I capture en passant with a pawn. Using the same pawn, I get to the 8th rank. Can I promote that pawn into anything else? I've heard of this restriction in various ways. Some say it can ...
2
votes
2answers
251 views

If a pawn promotes to a checking piece while also revealing a check, it is a double check?

I'm writing a chess engine just for fun, and during the validation of movement generation, I found some positions in Perft Results that differ from what my engine is producing. As an example, take ...
14
votes
2answers
600 views

Earliest text which mentions the pawn promotion rule

My question is about the history of the pawn promotion rule (promotion to a queen). What is the earliest existing text (authentic written document in any language) which mentions the pawn ...
6
votes
3answers
4k views

If a pawn is promoted to queen beside the king is the king instantly in check?

If a pawn is promoted to queen adjacent to the enemy king, is the king instantly in check?
25
votes
10answers
12k views

Why would one promote a pawn to a knight?

I know that it is makes no sense to promote a pawn to a bishop or a rook as the queen can compensate for both but a knight is something different. However, the queen is still much more powerful. So ...
2
votes
1answer
608 views

Pawn promotion movement

If a pawn is promoted, does that count as a move? What if a rook is waiting and could capture the new queen in one move? What exactly happens when a pawn is promoted?
9
votes
1answer
618 views

Touching a captured queen — must I promote to it?

Playing a friendly game against my son (but with Touch-and-Move in force), I was going to promote a pawn to a queen, so I fished out my queen from among the captured pieces, and placed it on the ...
-5
votes
1answer
168 views

Has there ever been at least a single instance of promotion with double check in a professional game?

Promotion is an uncommon move in professional games. What many may not know is that it is possible to preform a double check while doing so. Here is a small example. [FEN "2kr4/2P5/1KR5/8/8/8/8/8 w k ...
7
votes
4answers
1k views

Why doesn't Promotion restrict choices to Queen and Knight only?

Queen, in a sense, is equivalent to Bishop and Rook. What is the logic behind "putting Rook and Bishop" in the promotion move's options? Why doesn't it (Promotion move) provide the choice between ...
21
votes
4answers
6k views

What are some examples of promoting a pawn to a rook or bishop?

I understand the theory, and have seen examples, of endgames where a pawn promoted to a queen creates a draw and instead the player typically promotes to rook. My question is, has this ever occurred ...
4
votes
2answers
11k views

Do you get an extra turn when you promote your pawn?

If you promote a pawn do you get a second move to move it out of danger? Or do you still only get the promotion as your move and it becomes the opponents move?
16
votes
2answers
11k views

Do the official rules of chess forbid promoting a pawn to a piece of the opposite color?

Not that it would be everyone's first choice, but it is possible to concoct positions where having an extra piece block your opponent's moves and thus gives you an advantage (think blocking an escape ...
1
vote
3answers
360 views

What happens if I push a pawn to the 8th rank and press the clock before promoting? [duplicate]

What happens if I push a pawn to the 8th rank and press the clock before converting it to another piece? Does it make a difference if it's Blitz or not?
5
votes
3answers
582 views

Is it unsportsmanlike to underpromote to improve my chances?

Is it unsportsmanlike to underpromote a pawn to improve my chances? Sometimes I reach a won endgame where underpromoting my pawn will result in a slower but easier final checkmate. Old example, ...
-4
votes
1answer
820 views

Illegal promotion in FIDE blitz game? [duplicate]

In a FIDE rated blitz (3+2) tournament (following the official FIDE rules), the following position occurred: [FEN "8/1k5P/q7/8/8/8/6K1/6Q1 w - - 0 1"] White played 1.h8Q. But since both queens were ...
27
votes
3answers
72k views

What is the correct pawn promotion procedure?

This may be a frivolous question, as I believe that most chess players are good sportsmen, but I was wondering: what is the technically correct procedure for promoting a pawn to a queen? Do you ask ...
2
votes
2answers
179 views

A word for the resulting piece of a promotion?

I'm looking for a word that represents the piece after the promotion. In a chemical reaction there are the reactants and the products. Is there an equivalent word for product in promotion? (In case I ...
0
votes
3answers
545 views

Pawn promotion strategy

Why is it so important to KEEP a pawn from promoting if you have a piece situated so that when the pawn promotes your next move can be to capture it? Is this a matter of tempo? Frankly, once the pawn ...
6
votes
3answers
303 views

Is this 2B vs. N endgame won for the bishops?

Tim Krabbe gives this position on his list of serious promotions to rook and bishop: [FEN "8/8/5b2/8/K7/4N3/kp6/8 w - - 0 1"] [White "Boniface"] [Black "Pugh"] [Site "Bristol"] [Date "1995"] 1. Nd1 ...
3
votes
2answers
732 views

How do you calculate pawn endgames, like if you have X number of pawns facing X numbers of opposite color?

I'll use a random example here with white to move, but I'm really asking about the general principles. 8/7p/6p1/pp3p2/3k1P2/PP6/1P1K1PPP/8 w - - 0 1 I'm a chess amateur and endgames drive me crazy....
0
votes
1answer
183 views

Promoting to Rook or Bishop [duplicate]

Is there any chess position where the most correct move would be promoting a pawn on the 7th or 2nd rank to a Rook or Bishop since the queen can perform both their moves.
0
votes
1answer
130 views

Promotion transition

What is the point at which promotion occurs? Does the pawn as it enters the 8th rank become a promoted piece as it enters or does it have to occupy as a pawn then be promoted? If promotion occurs as ...
1
vote
1answer
87 views

Pawn-Promotions [duplicate]

The Pawn Promotion, I read that: "A pawn may be promoted to any piece. (NOTE: A common misconception is that pawns may only be exchanged for a piece that has been captured. That is NOT true.)" So, ...
13
votes
3answers
523 views

Promotion race between three non-confronting pawns

Two evenly matched players have reached the endgame after exchanging off all their pieces except the King and 3 Pawns. Having castled on opposite sides, we have now reached the following interesting ...
1
vote
2answers
608 views

Promoting a pawn

When a pawn reaches the opposing side it can be promoted. Given that the most advantageous choice of promotion is to a Queen I have 3 questions. Does this mean that the newly promoted piece (e.g. ...
1
vote
1answer
264 views

Question on promoting pawns to queens

If you have two queens (original and one promoted) on board and the original queen is captured....can you promote your next pawn at the eight rank to queen again?