Questions tagged [loopholes]

For questions ask about irregularties in the laws of chess such as whether or not something is allowed.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
17
votes
2answers
13k views

Do the official rules of chess forbid promoting a pawn to a piece of the opposite color?

Not that it would be everyone's first choice, but it is possible to concoct positions where having an extra piece block your opponent's moves and thus gives you an advantage (think blocking an escape ...
33
votes
1answer
3k views

When was it possible for a player's king to be attacked by 3 of the opponent's pieces?

According to the current FIDE Laws of Chess: 3.9.1 The king is said to be 'in check' if it is attacked by one or more of the opponent's pieces, even if such pieces are constrained from moving to ...
9
votes
5answers
2k views

If you exploit Article 12.9 in FIDE's Laws of Chess, is it possible to benefit yourself by purposely receiving a penalty?

After I received this answer on my previous question, I found the list of penalties which a player can receive, according to FIDE guidelines. As FIDE states in Article 12.9: Options available to the ...
17
votes
3answers
7k views

Can a player resign after checkmating their opponent?

A friend of mine recently told me that once, he checkmated his opponent and then immediately resigned because he thought his win was unfair. This happened in a FIDE-rated tournament. Searching the ...
14
votes
5answers
2k views

What is the result? (Rules + puzzle)

[EDITED to include followup - EDIT 2 to include definition of position] This is in part a genuine question on the FIDE Laws of Chess, and in part a small puzzle to solve. Suppose that during a long ...
4
votes
3answers
2k views

Is castling possible with a pawn promoted to a rook?

I was thinking about some rules and I came up with a really nice question. Is it possible to castle with a pawn promoted to a rook? If the rules are followed-neither the king or the new rook has ...