Skip to main content

Questions tagged [arbiters]

For questions about arbiters, the authority figures in chess tournaments.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
6 votes
1 answer
630 views

Handling Illegal Moves by Both Players in a Blitz Game: Rules and Arbiter's Role

In a recent blitz chess game, a situation left me uncertain about the official rules and how they are enforced. Both players, including myself, made illegal moves, but these were not immediately ...
2 votes
0 answers
146 views

Notable Chess games where Results where a Double Forfeit (0/0)

Given the recent controversy with Dubov v Nepomniachtchi link where the arbiter decided the result to be forfeited. Game Below [FEN ""] [Event "FIDE World Blitz Chess Championship 2023&...
7 votes
1 answer
2k views

How do arbiters handle touch move complains where players deny?

So, two cases. Player A (A) and Player B (B) Case 1 B touches a piece. A sees it. B plays something else. A complains to arbiter that B didn't play the touched piece. Arbiter didn't see that B ...
0 votes
1 answer
115 views

Minimum break between rounds

I am an assistant arbiter in an open tournament which is happening over the weekend, with 1 round on Friday, and 2 rounds on Saturday and Sunday. There were 5.5 hours between the two rounds on ...
1 vote
0 answers
103 views

Time Trouble, Arbiter Trouble

Yesterday. Our club's summer tournament. One specialist A is in time trouble as always (to his defense, 90+30+no bonus) and no longer writes. The other specialist B still has 10 minutes and writes ...
5 votes
2 answers
753 views

Could I get in trouble for insulting an arbiter during a tournament round?

Suppose that, during a round of an official FIDE-rated tournament, I insult the arbiter privately (they notice), without distracting any of the other players. Could I get expelled from the tournament ...
4 votes
1 answer
176 views

Arbiter talking to player

So I've got a question regarding if an arbiter can talk to a player in this situation : My clock was running and I was thinking about the next move that I should make. I was already 10 minutes into ...
1 vote
1 answer
113 views

How the "Quickplay finish" article works on a rook vs rook or rook vs minor piece endgame?

Suppose 2 players are playing in a 10-10 or blitz format with no increment. In the endgame the players are left with only rook vs a piece (rook / bishop / knight nearer to king) or similar drawing-...
14 votes
2 answers
3k views

What is the FIDE Arbiter's exam like?

According to the FIDE Handbook (B.06.1.3.7), one of the requirements to become a FIDE Arbiter is: Attendance of one (1) FIDE Arbiters’ Seminar and successfully passing (at least 80%) an examination ...
2 votes
0 answers
94 views

What is the state of the new FIDE Arbiter Refresher Courses?

Related question here asking about the changes for the changes in the regulations for FIDE arbiters (FA and IA) which came into force two years ago. Previously the rules regarding inactivity for ...
5 votes
1 answer
1k views

Can someone press the clock without making a move to avoid getting flagged in 2022?

As the title says let's say it is a 1 hour 30 minute game with 30 seconds increment/move. Now if someone deliberately presses the clock at the last second without moving to avoid flagging and get the ...
3 votes
3 answers
512 views

Should FIDE introduce a minimum rating for arbiters?

As it stands right now, FIDE does not have any minimum Elo rating requirement for arbiters. In fact, there's no test to check whether one can play chess or not before being awarded a FIDE arbiter-...
10 votes
2 answers
279 views

Do I have to make a move on a DGT board at the start of the game when opponent is not present?

In a situation when you are playing on a DGT board as white and your opponent has not yet arrived at the board, should we still make the move on the board after the game has started? Let's say your ...
10 votes
1 answer
1k views

Opponent replies to a half made move - what should the arbiter do?

In round 1 of the recently concluded 4th EJCOA IM norm tournament this game was played: [Title "Rajat Makkar vs Neil Berry 4th EJCOA IM Norm 2022"] [fen ""] [Startply "36"...
6 votes
2 answers
734 views

USCF: Should the arbiter start a time-forfeit claim?

I will be an USCF arbiter soon and I am checking the current USCF version of chess rules. Here is the link on the USCF website at 4/9/2022: USCF chess rules In my perspective, you would have to go to ...
7 votes
1 answer
435 views

USCF: Can the arbiter adjudicate a draw using the threefold repetition rule WITHOUT a player claim?

Please give me your perspective and experience about USCF sudden death and non-sudden death time controls. My understanding is the following: In general, the arbiter should not intervene unless a ...
3 votes
1 answer
129 views

USCF: Does the arbiter have the duty to write the moves of the players if they are not recording their moves? Or is that not allowed?

In general, the players have to write their moves. However, there are some situations when they are allowed to skip this obligation. In those situations, does an USCF arbiter have the duty to write ...
2 votes
2 answers
509 views

USCF: Should the arbiter correct illegal moves without a player claim?

Should an USCF arbiter correct illegal moves without a player claim? Here is the USCF link: USCF rules of chess Here is the FIDE link: FIDE rules of chess USCF and FIDE rules are NOT 100% equal. What ...
4 votes
1 answer
572 views

If players are not writing their moves, can they claim a draw using the threefold repetition rule in an USCF or FIDE 30+0 chess tournament?

It is my understanding that the USCF expresses that if a player has less than 5 minutes in a 30+0 game, neither the player nor his/her opponent have the obligation to continue with chess notation. If ...
3 votes
2 answers
183 views

What is "mating potential" in the FIDE Arbiter's Manual meant to mean?

While researching an answer for another SE.chess question (Has a position being a draw under FIDE 5.2.b before a forced recapture ever come up in a tournament?), I stumbled across the following issue. ...
15 votes
1 answer
2k views

Arbiter's top work cause

Any solid data on which rule decision makes up the lion's share of arbiters work nowadays? (I neglect "Lookie, Flag!" because this is rather passive, and a player can claim it anyway. ...
1 vote
2 answers
113 views

What would happen if the same opening is played until an advanced stage in two games in a tournament? [duplicate]

I was watching this Firouzja interview by Belenkaya after the last round of the candidates and she asks him if he noticed the similarity between his game and Rapport-Radjabov at the opening. Despite ...
3 votes
2 answers
1k views

can players continue the game on mutual agreement in case of mobile ringing and arbiter noticing

In a situation where a mobile phone rings in the middle of the game should the offender's opponent call the arbiter and claim the win. If claiming is not needed and if the arbiter decides to mark the ...
0 votes
1 answer
437 views

What are the new FIDE regulations for arbiters?

Last year I asked if FIDE were going to extend the rules around inactivity for new players, players and arbiters. They did so for players but not arbiters. Now they have made radical changes to the ...
19 votes
2 answers
4k views

What should the arbiter and what should have I done in this case?

Recently, an official (FIDE-rated) tournament was held, where I participated. In the last round – which was the most critical one – I was black and my opponent white. In the middle of the game, they ...
4 votes
1 answer
217 views

Is an arbiter allowed to leave the playing hall while some games haven't finished yet?

I've observed the arbiter responsible for the category I'm playing often leaves the playing lobby to smoke or drink/buy coffee/water in a nearby shop. Those "breaks" are quite long. What ...
22 votes
3 answers
5k views

Am I allowed to call the arbiter on my opponent's turn?

My opponent, in their turn, was distracting me making annoying sounds. However, the arbiter said that I should wait until it's my turn when I called them. Is this correct?
21 votes
1 answer
3k views

What should an arbiter do if a player has illegally stopped notating?

Situation: a standard game, 1 hour 40 minutes for the game with 10 seconds increment per move. FIDE rules. White has two minutes left and has stopped writing down his moves, as he is allowed to ...
10 votes
1 answer
3k views

A 50-move-rule claim turned out to be incorrect - can the arbiter punish me?

I claimed a 50-move draw, but my claim turned out to be incorrect. Can the arbiter punish me by increasing the opponent's time or reducing mine?
12 votes
2 answers
3k views

What will/should the arbiter do if the side which cannot theoretically lose resigns?

Assume that in an endgame, one side cannot theoretically lose (for example, his opponent has only a king) and he is not in any time crisis. In this case, what will/should an arbiter do if this player ...
46 votes
4 answers
15k views

Arbiter ignored cheating, and I signed the scoresheet. Did I lose my right to object?

I am currently playing in an ELO tournament. Today, while I was playing, my opponent occasionally got up and walked around. At first, I did not care much. Then, I realized that some people were ...
2 votes
2 answers
1k views

What does the chief arbiter do?

The rules of chess are straightforward so I must ask what does the chief arbiter do? what is the difference between him and a regular arbiter? For example Anand and Carlsen had to meet him behind ...
4 votes
2 answers
512 views

Can a KB vs. KB endgame be declared drawn if a checkmate can occur and the 50-moves-rule doesn't apply in a Blitz game?

Bishop and King vs Bishop and King, with opposite-colored bishops, is usually a draw unless a serious blunder happens. [FEN "8/8/8/3b4/8/7k/8/6BK w - - 0 1"] What is the requirement for an ...
9 votes
1 answer
741 views

I refused to sign the scoresheet but the arbiter signed with my initials. What should I do?

I refused to sign my scoresheet, as I was planning to lodge an appeal. Yet, the arbiter signed the scoresheet with my initials. I know I didn't lose my right to object. However, I'm afraid that my ...
33 votes
7 answers
6k views

How should an arbiter handle copying moves from another game?

In 2004 the British illusionist, Derren Brown, despite being a very poor chess player scored +4 -3 =2 against 9 strong chess players including scoring 2/4 against 4 grandmasters in a simul. Of course ...