I know the rule of thumb about trading pieces when you have a lead (and pawns when you're behind), but how does one decide an advantage is sufficient enough to transition into an ending by trading queens? I've found that a small lead of a pawn or even a piece often isn't enough to win in that case.

  • 2
    This question is too broad to be answered in one post. In short, study endgame, there is no magic rule, nor principle that will help you in 100% of cases. You simply must study endgame... – AlwaysLearningNewStuff Jul 14 '15 at 16:57

There is no easy answer to that question. You need to be able to accurately assess your winning chances in the possible endgame and to do that you need some knowledge and a lot of experience.

You can acquire the knowledge by looking at the basic theoretical endgames. That will tell you that two knights aren't enough for mate, that bishop and pawn might still be a draw, that rook and bishop vs rook or knight vs rook is tricky but a draw and many other things.

For the experience you'll have to play. Then you will also notice that apart from winning chances, there is another factor to the decision of going into an endgame: Minimising the risk of losing. Often simplification decreases both: The chances of winning and the chances of losing. So if winning is more important to you: When in doubt, keep the queens.

| improve this answer | |
  • Good answer. Thanks. I've been tending more toward keeping the queens on now for the reasons you've given. – CConero Jul 14 '15 at 13:47

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.