I have my rook on the 8th rank. My pawn is directly behind it. I want to move diagonal with my pawn to promote it to a queen. Can I move diagonal to reach the 8th rank and promote my pawn?

1 Answer 1


You may do so only if the pawn is capturing one of the opponent's pieces; that is the only way a pawn ever moves diagonally. So here you can do what you describe:

[fen "3Rn3/k2P4/8/8/8/K7/8/8 w - - 0 1"]


But if you're talking about a situation like the following, then no, the pawn cannot move as you described:

[fen "3R4/k2P4/8/8/8/K7/8/8 w - - 0 1"]

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.