1

I am confused about the result of the Grenke Chess Classics 2015.

At the one hand, Magnus Carlsen won 3 games and Arkadij Naiditsch only 2, so due to the tiebreaker-rule, Carlsen should have won the tournament.

But then I noticed that 5 tie break games were added.

What is true and who won the tournament ?

2

Carlsen won the tie-break (and the tournament).

Quite dramatically, after trading wins in the rapid and draws in the blitz games, with a win in the armageddon game.

The tie-break rules were only used to sort out the places apart from the first place.

http://www.grenkechessclassic.de/en/grenke-chess-classic-2015/rules-regulations

http://en.chessbase.com/post/grenke-final-carlsen-wins-in-armageddon

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.