1

If a pawn is promoted does that count as a move. What if a rook is waiting and could capture the new queen in one move??? What exactly happens when a pawn is promoted?

2

The pawn promotion is part of the move of a white pawn to the eighth (or for a black pawn to the first) row. So you move the pawn to eighth row and replace it immediately with a piece of your choice (except kings, pawns or pieces of the opposite color). You don't need to spend an extra move for the promotion.

If a rook can immediately take your new queen, well such is life … ;-) Maybe promoting wasn't such a good move then ...

  • … or maybe the move was still good, because you can capture the rook again. ;) – Keba Dec 26 '14 at 11:22

Your Answer

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.