2

I recently purchased the book "Chess: 5334 Problems, Combinations, and Games" by Laszlo Polgar, just to learn more about moves.

This book has 3411 "Mate in two" problems and 743 "Mate in three" problems. The book is great but I have a question about the solutions to these problems.

For example, the solution to this mate-in-two (white to move first) problem # 1135 (from p. 247)...

[FEN "rkn5/pp1R4/2pn4/2N5/8/8/8/K w - - 0 1"]

...is given (in figurine algebraic notation) as:

Rb7

The solutions to both the mate-in-two and the mate-in-three problems list only one step (the book does not explain the reason for this).

How should a person read this solution? Is it the supposed final location of the white rook? And is this way of listing solutions common practice in chess books?

  • 2
    A more common notation would be Rxb7+, where x means capture and + means check. – JiK Dec 10 '14 at 8:13
4

I think it's slightly unusual to only give the first move, or a little outdated. But it saves space and the assumption is that if you found the right solution, you can confirm it by seeing the first move.

I also think that Polgar originally intended this book (and his other "big books") as a collection of problems for coaches to select problems for their students from, because doing 5000+ mate in 2 and mate in 3 problems is a bit much for self-study. The coaches are expected to be of sufficient strength already, and to be able to select some problems with a common theme that they need for some lesson.

The whole answer, in this case, is of course 1.Rxb7+ Nxb7 (forced) 2.Na6#.

The 'x' and '+' in Rxb7+ are strictly speaking not necessary, so some books omit it. Again, that's a bit of an outdated practice since it's just not that user friendly.

2

The reason for giving just a first move is that the rest should be obvious (if you figured out the first move, you'd know how to continue). And yes, it is a standard practice.

Is it the supposed final location of the white rook?

Again, yes. In a long notation the move would be spelled Rd7-b7, but since there's only one rook able to land on b7, the initial square is omitted. In short notation the initial square is only spelled out to disambiguate the move.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.