1

I just played chess on my mac and the computer (black) won. Here's the final board:

Final board

Why couldn't I, white, use my king (D4) to take the black queen (C5)?

  • just look at the rules of chess – Simon Meyer Oct 13 '14 at 22:45
7

Because the queen is protected by the bishop on A3. Therefore its checkmate.

|improve this answer|||||
  • 1
    That's a knight, not a bishop. – alex Oct 13 '14 at 9:35
  • 2
    Oh hang on, maybe you're right. It could just be unclear graphics. I thought it was a knight, but looking closer I guess it might be a bishop. – alex Oct 13 '14 at 9:36
  • 4
    @alex That's actually a bishop, just compare it to the knight on H3. – Fytch Oct 13 '14 at 9:37
  • 3
    Good spotting. I'll change the board to a clearer one. Thanks! – alex Oct 13 '14 at 9:37
  • I think it's a pawn on a3 :) Cool 3D board, by the way. – Rauan Sagit Oct 15 '14 at 8:35

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.