11

A simple brainteaser - A queen cannot do something all other pieces can do. What is that?

April 18 2014 9:15 PM GMT. EDIT: In this context, by "doing" I mean making a move that leads to the desired result.

19
  • 2
    Capture a more valuable piece?
    – Akavall
    Apr 17 '14 at 16:23
  • 3
    @Wes, The queen is the most powerful piece; therefore, it cannot capture a more valuable piece.
    – Akavall
    Apr 17 '14 at 16:26
  • 2
    if it is just for fun.. it is a female? it can't do what male can do.. :)
    – Mr_Green
    Apr 17 '14 at 16:28
  • 2
    This question seems to be extremely badly worded, as there are 100's of correct, valid answers to this question. "The queen can never start on the opposite color it is, all other pieces can". "The queen can not not be the queen, all other pieces can not be the queen" etc. etc. etc. Questions on SE should as far as I know have a single correct and distinguishable answer. If anything a criterium should be added that the accepted answer will be decided based on popularity or something like on CR. Apr 18 '14 at 0:03
  • 3
    not sure if this question belongs here. Apr 18 '14 at 5:20
19

I'll have a go at saying the queen is the only piece that cannot reveal a discovered check.

4
  • 1
    This blog states the same. but I didn't get what it means actually.. any help?
    – Mr_Green
    Apr 17 '14 at 16:42
  • 6
    @Mr_Green Moving the queen cannot cause another piece to give check to the opposing king.
    – dfan
    Apr 17 '14 at 16:44
  • Some answers are being dismissed with "it isn't the queen itself doing it" - similarly, in the case of discovered check, it's (arguably) more the piece that gives check that's doing something, rather than the piece that's getting out of the way.
    – Brilliand
    Apr 18 '14 at 14:57
  • Well, that's why I was sure to specify reveal a discovered check, rather than giving one. :) But yeah, which answers are right is just a matter of definitions really. Apr 18 '14 at 18:13
10
  1. A Queen cannot be captured when static by an attacking King.
  2. A Queen cannot capture a piece more valuable than itself.
  3. A Queen cannot move to create a discovered check.
  4. A Queen cannot sacrifice itself for a higher valued piece.
  5. A Queen cannot initiate a double check.
6
  • 3 and 5 coincide in the case of a queen. For 1, 2, and 4, the same holds true for the King as well.
    – Wes
    Apr 18 '14 at 13:48
  • @Wes: Double check and discovered check are different. Apr 18 '14 at 13:49
  • 1
    I know. That's why I said they coincide in the case of a queen. Every double check is a discovered check.
    – Wes
    Apr 18 '14 at 13:51
  • 5
    Double checks are a pretty interesting case. It's possible to have a double check by two queens with a promotion, but I guess in that case you would say it was initiated by the pawn, even though it became a queen on the same move. Apr 18 '14 at 18:16
  • 1
    @AmalMurali I can't think of a double check that isn't a discovered check. For a piece to check something, it either has to move this turn, or discover. Since you can't move more than one piece discovered check is the only way to double check. Thus 5 follows from 3 and is redundant.
    – Cruncher
    Apr 25 '14 at 12:39
7

The queen cannot not be where the queen starts when the game begins.

All other pieces can not be where the queen starts when the game begins.

6
  • 1
    Although I have an idea why this was downvoted, this is technically true. The queen can in fact not do this, and all other pieces can (in fact, they must).
    – Cruncher
    Apr 17 '14 at 20:55
  • 6
    It's easy to come up with examples "technically true" for any given piece. Just take a defining property (as the starting position) and say it cannot not have that property, while all others can.
    – LeartS
    Apr 17 '14 at 21:21
  • @FixedPoint: that's not what Cruncher's answer says. Reread it.
    – LeartS
    Apr 17 '14 at 21:23
  • Also, properties are not necessarily something a piece "does". So a queen starting on d1 is not something a queen "did".
    – Wes
    Apr 18 '14 at 15:30
  • @Wes, answers like this one (and others here) point out that the question itself is rather problematic IMO.
    – ETD
    Apr 18 '14 at 21:01
4

A queen can not start the game on a square of the other color. All other pieces can, and in fact, do.

3
  • 3
    Starting on a square is not something a queen "does".
    – Wes
    Apr 18 '14 at 13:49
  • 1
    Start is a verb, no? May 8 '14 at 10:50
  • Not true; the queen's knight, king's bishop, king's rook, queen's rook's pawn, queen's bishop's pawn, king's pawn and king's knight's pawn also cannot start the game on a square of the other colour.
    – Rosie F
    Jun 7 '16 at 13:41
3

Be the piece that moves away and makes a discovered check!

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.