[FEN "8/1KP5/8/8/5p2/8/8/6k1 b - - 0 3"]

I recently come with this position on one of my games and I would like to know the result of this endgame...

[FEN "8/1KP5/8/8/5p2/8/8/6k1 b - - 0 3"]
[Plycount "19"]

3...f3 ( On a race to promotion ) 4.c8=Q { ...that white just won. Or did he?!? } 4...f2 5.Qg4+ Kh1 6.Qf3+ Kg1 7.Qg3+ Kh1 8.Qh3+ ( 8.Qxf2 { If black takes the pawn...Disaster strikes = STALEMATE !! } ) 8...Kg1 9.Qg4+ Kh1 10.Qf3+ Kg1 11.Qg3+ Kh1 

* If black takes the pawn...Disaster strikes = STALEMATE !!

If white allows black to promote the pawn, in order to avoid drawing by repetition, the resulting one is also a draw as no progress can be made by either side !


The general rule in K+P vs K+Q is that, if the pawn is at the 7th(2nd) row on the third file (c or f file), and the opponent's king is not near, the game is a Draw because of the stalemate positions.

  • @bof I specifically say on the third file. Do you read before voting?
    – ThunderGr
    Jan 31 '14 at 10:07
  • My mistake. Had to make a small edit, or else the system wouldn't let me undo my downvote. Jan 31 '14 at 10:23
  • @DagOskarMadsen Seeing as how confusing this came out, your edit appears to be really useful. Thank you.
    – ThunderGr
    Jan 31 '14 at 10:26

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.