2

A prearranged draw, if proven (how?), will earn the players a -:-. Now consider this situation: Today, big kids tournament by our club/school. Two players from the same school are paired, 1.e4 e5 Draw. Tournament director gives the two rascals the talk about birds and bees and unsporting behavior: Either you play an earnest game or double forfeit. I was main arbiter and had my doubts, but kept my big mouth shut. Where to draw (sorry) the line between the unalienable right to agree on a draw following the rules (i.e. after two half moves and no Sofia in effect) and a prearranged draw?

3
  • 1
    I thought it was the FIDE arbiter's job to rule on this kind of thing? What is Sofia, pls
    – Laska
    Commented Jun 23 at 12:31
  • @Laska: Sofia rule, a fairly standard rule to disallow draws before the 40th move (especially relevant when watchers want something for their money). For the question who had the last say, it was a giant tournament (100 kiddies), the subarbiter (incidentally from our club) directly reported to the director (also from our club, and our youth referent), and I (the chairman of the club) found it pointless to miff off my colleague with rule interpretation on such a petitesse. He was already testy enough due to petulant tech ;-) Commented Jun 23 at 14:35
  • It's one of those things that can't really be adequately defined. Try to define it in such a way that the Berlin Draw can be considered pre-arranged. At GM level it would be obvious, but at lower level probably less clear. Really it just needs to be a judgement call decision
    – Darren H
    Commented Jun 24 at 15:19

0

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.