0
  • FIDE-Buchholz BF: the one that is used in "official" tournaments and defined in the FIDE rules, somewhat complicated. Considers bye, forfeit and other not played games.
  • Naive Buchholz BN: Sum of the opponents points.
  • Delete-1 Buchholz BD: Naive, plus deleting pointwise worst opponent

I just played a tournament, where my competition ended up equal in points, so Buchholz had to decide. Cross table suggested I was in front whoppingly: 4.5 BP. We both played against two different players who played only 5 (me) resp. 2 (him) rounds. Delete for fairness - I'm still 2.5 BP in front. Official table: A tiny 0.5 BP.

Seeing patterns everywhere, since 5-2=3 can't play a role here, let's generalize: A and B played maximally against one C and D having not played all games, C=D is allowed. Assume C and D are deleted by BD. Then for the Buchholz differences of A and B the following holds for my case:

BD=(BN+BF)/2, i.e, the official Buchholz doubles the effect of the delete-1 one.

Is this correct in general?

0

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.