0

pawn promotion

As I was trying out different chess applications I received a hint from the Lucas Chess virtual tutor, showing me I had a better option: Move piece C2 to C1. When I did that, the piece promoted to queen. I've tried this on chess.com with the same result. What (strange) rule is this, and where can I learn more about promotions?

EDIT: Or, maybe this got triggered by the fact I had a crashed play, and had set-up the board manual, making a mistake by flipping the board so the computer thinks I'm already on the other side. That must be it, right? :)

3
  • 4
    Yes, your edit must be right. Sep 30, 2023 at 16:49
  • 2
    Yep. You can see the "1" on the bottom row and the "8" on the top row, which indicates the board is flipped from what Black usually sees.
    – D M
    Sep 30, 2023 at 17:12
  • Thx, you can imagina as I don't play regulary how weird this game was. Case solved :)
    – Gaston
    Oct 3, 2023 at 6:41

1 Answer 1

1

I had a crashed play, and set-up the board manualy. As I was playing black, I mistakenly flipped the board. Thereby the computer thought I'm already on the other side.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.