7

In round 4 of the tiebreaks for the 2023 world championship (LiChess), Nepo played the surprise 13.Bb1. I'm wondering if Nepo's teammates may have done a computer analysis of this position, which also occurred in round 2, and communicated to this to Nepo between rounds (during rest time). I'm not sure if this is allowed.

Question: Can Nepo and Ding receive computer analysis from teammates between tiebreak rounds?

4
  • Interesting question. I could rationalize either allowing or prohibiting, though prohibiting would be logistically more complicated... Apr 30, 2023 at 23:19
  • 3
    @paulgarrett Prohibiting is easy if you do not let them out of the playing venue.
    – Minot
    May 1, 2023 at 6:01
  • @Minot, ah, until I read the answer below, I had not realized that the gaps between games were so short! No rest!?! May 1, 2023 at 16:48
  • @paulgarrett Between all the 4 games of the tiebreak round, it was 10 mins. I don't know of the break between the rounds if game 4 ended up being a draw May 1, 2023 at 17:41

1 Answer 1

8

Very likely no, notwithstanding any fairness issues of allowing communication after the round starts, the regulations of the 2023 FIDE World Championship state:

4. 10. 2. Except with the permission of the Chief Arbiter, only the players, the FIDE principals, one media professional from the organising team, and stewards are allowed in the playing area. The players may communicate with an arbiter or a steward.

This implies that to get external analysis, they would need to leave the playing venue.

This sounds impossible as the inter-round time is 10 minutes, this would have been contrary to the playing venue rules to step out and back in that timeframe :

4. 10. 4. The players shall arrive at the playing area at least ten minutes before the beginning of the game for the security check.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.