3
  1. e4 e5
  2. d3

At this point, if d3 advances, say at 3. d4 it does not control d4, it is controlled by a sentry (an enemy pawn controlling d4) and is adjacent and behind a same colored pawn at e4.

Is the d3 pawn backwards? I was told no, because it is supported by c2, but Wikpedia's definition of a backwards pawn doesn't care about a backward's pawn's support, only the support it has moving forward.

Thank you.

1 Answer 1

4

The pawn on d3 is not backwards since (as you say) it is protected by another pawn.

There must be something missing from Wikipedia's definition. Later on the article (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Backward_pawn) contradicts itself.

Also, the opponent can place a piece, usually a knight, on the hole in front of the pawn without any risk of a pawn driving it away.

In your example, if black puts a knight on d4, the pawn move c3will drive it away.

3
  • Thanks, I had suspected this was true (that a backwards pawn also has to be unprotected itself) and felt there was something I was missing from en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Backward_pawn
    – david
    Oct 14, 2013 at 11:52
  • Could someone make an edit to Wikipedia's entry? In versions in other languages it is mentioned that neighboring pawns are further advanced. Oct 14, 2013 at 12:01
  • I quickly made an edit to add in the word "Unsupported" a backward pawn is an unsupported pawn that is behind a pawn of the same color on an adjacent file and that cannot be advanced without loss of material, usually the backward pawn itself. But now i wonder if a backwards pawn must also have the ability to advance regardless of who controls its stop square.
    – david
    Oct 14, 2013 at 12:24

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.