There are a lot of questions about the 50-move rule; details on how to claim the draw, why the number 50, etc...

But the most interesting question seems to be whether the rule has ever been applied in an actual game! (N.B. I am referring to serious sanctioned games only). To be more concrete:

Is there any official game between FIDE masters or above which ended in a draw as a result of one of the players invoking the 50-move rule?

| improve this question | | | | |
  • 1
    There are some recognizable names here. – aschultz Sep 24 '16 at 0:49

Yes, many times. Ivanchuk- Kamsky 2009 is one example, but there are hundreds if not thousands of others. Ushenina - Girya 2013 made some news recently because Ushenina couldn't mate with knight and bishop in time.

| improve this answer | | | | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.