1

enter image description here

Chess.com gives a draw result. I can't understand why.

1

1 Answer 1

4

Black has no legal move, which is an automated draw by design. Every move at Black's hand would result in its king in check.

5
  • 1
    If black cant move anymore, why isnt white win?
    – Otes Urop
    Feb 4, 2022 at 12:34
  • 4
    You might want to study the rules of chess a bit.
    – starrin
    Feb 4, 2022 at 12:36
  • 6
    It's called stalemate. If a player has no legal move, and is not in check, then it's a draw. You could play a game with different rules if you like (but it wouldn't be standard chess). If you want to know historically why or how that became the rule, you could google "history of stalemate" or start from en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stalemate#History_of_the_stalemate_rule Feb 4, 2022 at 12:43
  • @OtesUrop For a history of stalemate as a win, loss, or a draw, see chess.com/article/view/stalemate2 Feb 4, 2022 at 14:49
  • But hey, Black had one legal move right? f4 is legal right? Why must it be a draw in that position?
    – NameError
    Jun 19, 2023 at 13:17

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.