I have been playing atomic chess on lichess for some time but I still can't definitively state what pawns captures will look like. I think they have a kill radius of 1 but it doesn't effect other pawns? If anyone has a clear and decisive answer, I would love to hear it!

1 Answer 1


The captures in atomic chess work as follows:

  1. The captured and capturing piece always die.
  2. Then, anything around the capture square that's not a pawn dies.

For en passant, the capture square is the "bypassed" square of the double pawn move.

See https://lichess.org/variant/atomic or https://illion-atomic.netlify.app/atomic-rules/

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.