In chessboxing, I think that every switch from a chess round to a boxing round is kind of an adjournment. Yet, I notice chessboxing doesn't have move sealing. Some ways a switch is not quite an adjournment:
Obviously, you don't have the night to think over the position.
As I understand, the reason regular chess (or chess960) tournaments don't really have adjournments anymore is because of computers. Computers are I guess going to be ruled out here. (I guess it's a rule that the cuthumans don't have computer access. But ok not really relevant maybe.)
Elephant in the room: Of course chessboxers/chessboxing players don't really necessarily have time or energy to think when they're preparing for a boxing round. All the more if they've just had boxing rounds.
However, if you don't really consider the boxing, if you're familiar with adjournments and if you take into account your knowledge on adjournments, then should it be proper for players to seal moves here?
- (1.1. Maybe never mind the specifics e.g. moving player has 5 seconds to seal move. I think just focus 1st on whether or not players should seal.)
Or (Any of 1 or 2 to be answered is fine): have the chessboxing people (WCBO, LCB, FIDE, FIDE-WBA or whatever) explained why there is no sealing?
- (2.1. Actually I think if this were the original question, then this might post might not have been closed in the 1st place because this would be factual and not argumentative.)
I think the boxing maybe is not really relevant. Just think of any hybrid where you alternate rounds of chess and another sport/game. Whenever you switch from chess to the other thing, I think moves should be sealed or at least I think it's reasonable to consider whether or not moves should be sealed.
It's speed chess, so every millisecond counts. If I'm a chessboxer playing a chess round in a chessboxing game, and it's my move, but then the bell rings, then the clock is paused but I still get to think for a few seconds, even milliseconds while the board is being taken away and the ring is being setup for boxing. It seems that if the round ends on my turn, then I get an advantage. But perhaps this advantage goes away in that my clock starts on the next chess round.
- Maybe a not so good example, but I was thinking about 40:53 in St Patrick's Day Bash 2020 | Bout 4: Here, white finishes a move just as the bell rings. White has already touched a knight, but I'm not sure White has any incentive to make a move with a knight for round end, at least in general. In this particular case, I don't think there's any other move to make with the knight.
I have pretty much no knowledge about adjournments, sealed moves, etc. I just saw this on The Queen's Gambit. (Not sure if coincidence, but: The Queen's Gambit was dedicated to Iepe Rubingh, the founder/creator/inventor of chessboxing!)
Thank you note:
I cannot believe this got only ONE downvote. Insane. Thanks all for the edits, etc. Thanks especially to Glorfindel♦.